We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT clam chowder” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trident Grill

Trident Grill
Ranked #55 of 1,971 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
tucson
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT clam chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The food is ok...The staff is nice...Not a bad little spot. The clam chowder however is tasty and full of clams. Yum!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank misledandliberated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    39
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“For Guinness lovers and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

A must for the stout beer lover. Or I should say the lover of stout beer. The Guinness is poured as it should be. Not rushed. The sandwiches are great and the rest of the menu is awsome. The staff is fast and friendly. The bartender will probably remember your name on your second trip to the bar. It could be hard to spot from the fast moving Speedway Blvd. so keep a sharp eye out. You don't want to miss this one

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wally l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level Contributor
295 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“best chowder ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

the chowder was to die for first time i ever had bacon on top of my chowder the fish and chips was good and reasonable price wife had a cheeseburger and enjoyed it .the only problem was we went on a sat night and it was full of college students.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rusty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"Tasty food, friendly people, welcoming atmosphere....what else does one need?"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We headed to Trident on a beautiful Saturday evening, May 5th. Everybody we mentioned this place to said: “You gotta go! The food’s great, the atmosphere is friendly and the staff is awesome. All of the above praise was absolutely true. The floor plan is open and welcoming. Over the bar area, rows of tankards are customized with patron’s names to use when they come for their favorite tipple. We added our names to the waiting list for a tankard for both my husband and me. I started with a Jack & Coke which was mixed perfectly. After perusing the menu for a bit (there’s a LOT to choose from) my hubby and I decided to start with the Nelson’s Love Plate. I’m told that it’s named for the owner, Nelson Miller, a retired Navy Seal. The description was intriguing: “Cheese, fruits, nuts, olives, this and that.” It was very tasty with the assorted flavors of all the little bites on the plate, and there’s plenty to share. We also got an order of fried pickles to see how this establishment did theirs and we LOVED them! Those pickles were done beautifully. Somebody knows precisely what they’re doing on the fryer. Mike ordered the Fish & Chips, and pronounced it “Excellent.” The batter was almost Tempura-like in texture, and the fries were crunchy on the outside, moist on the inside. I ordered the Maryland Blue Crab Cake Sandwich. It was pan-fried, drizzled with aioli, served on a Kaiser roll. Man, was IT tasty. I love crab, and this was done right. On the side, I ordered the mac & cheese instead of fries for a change. The rich, creamy cheese and shells were flavorful and gooey…a decadent little side, I must say! We decided to skip dessert, just this once, as we were stuffed, to say the least. Plus, we had a clamshell of fried pickles to take home.
Trident is a great place to watch a variety of sports, as they have 9 HD Flat Screen TV’s and one giant screen and it’s close-by the University of Arizona’s basketball and football stadiums. Our wonderful server, Skye, tells us there are 24 draft beers available as well as nightly specials. Ahh…our server Skye. What a nice person and excellent staff member! This bubbly lady truly enjoys what she does, and it shows. Something else we noticed about Trident…teamwork. Skye was busy taking another patron’s order, as the dinner rush was progressing. Our order appeared in the window, ready to come to our table. The two other wait staff members each grabbed the waiting plates and brought them immediately to our table, served with a smile! Skye told us that teamwork is of utmost importance here.
We felt very comfortable at Trident, and want to come back as soon as we can…and often! This is the kind of neighborhood place that we’ve been looking for and now, we’ve found it. It’s only about 15 minutes from our house, and well worth the short trip. The interior walls are decorated with items that, over time, the patrons have gifted to the, establishment, “just because.” What a great place this is! Our friends and associates were right! They also tell us that it can be packed on certain evenings. Clearly, Trident knows how to take care of their customers and now, they have two new ones.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steelbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good bar food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Had a late dinner here, service was excellent, reuben sandwich and hamburger both quite good. Free available parking.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhiladelphiaWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trident Grill also viewed

 

Been to Trident Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing