We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good restaurant”
Review of Zona 78 - CLOSED

Zona 78
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Zona 78 is Tucson’s premiere destination for artisan pizza, Italian specialties, and an eclectic selection of wines, spirits, and beers. We offer a little of everything at Zona 78: wine tastings, Tucson’s best happy hour and service that goes the extra mile. It’s no wonder Zona 78 is one of Tucson’s favorite restaurants. We are proud to tell you that Zona 78 has been voted Tucson’s Best Casual Dining restaurant, Best Family Dining restaurant and Tucson’s Best Happy Hour. “Life is Good” at Zona 78!
hotstackjg@aol.com
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very good restaurant”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We found a review in local magazine and it was rated as one of three best HAPPY HOURS as well as good Italian food. True on both counts. Large appetizers @ half price, specials on beer and wine, from 3-6pm. We tried a apple/brie bruchetta and an Antipasti platter. Both excellent and the Antipasti, especially was very large. We had a Riggitoni with sausage dish,and a second appetizer, calamari, as a main dish. my husband said the Calamari was to die for[almost!] Large open space. Bustling with energy. Some might say noisy, but we liked it. Good service. Obviously a popular spot as it was mid-week.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank wiscandsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    55
    24
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Yummy pizza”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Like the atmosphere at this friendly restaurant. Staff and managers were very nice, checked how you were doing during the meal. My friend and I both chose pizza but his was a gluten-free crust and I had the whole wheat crust. Was the best gluten-free pizza ever tasted. Was much better than the local competition offered. Our server was very helpful with suggestions and they have a nice variety of non alcoholic as well as alcoholic beverages. Would definitely go back again. The salads and soup/salad combinations looked very good at the next table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GandGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Chains make me sad”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I wish I liked the food here but it was so heavy handed. I just can't imagine why these chains are trying to kill me with the salt?

Helpful?
3 Thank ilevare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, IN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really Friendly Place”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The italian inspired menu is very good, but the outstanding staff really shines. We eat there about 3 times a month; the service is always great, the staff super friendly. One of the managers - Tavel is particularly great to talk with. Happy hour is good, the pizzas and flatbreads are worth the trip. If you like salads, you have to try their BLT salad. We go to their wine tasting dinners and have yet to be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dirdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Casual sister”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Zona is the casual sister restaurant of the famous and elegant yet pricier Hacienda del Sol. The care taken in menu selections and the quality of the preparation is reflective of this relationship. Zona in my opinion has the best pizza crust/pizza in Tucson. It also has an excellent wine list, great offerings of salads and appetizers and other Italian entrees. You can't go wrong eating here--its fantastic.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patag0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing