We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place To Have Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Inn - The Main Dining Room

Arizona Inn - The Main Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Arizona Inn - The Main Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 1,914 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Elm Street and Campbell
Description: The Arizona Inn is an historic resort spread over 14 tranquil acres of gardens, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson. The Inn offers AAA Four Diamond Award winning dining in our Main Dining Room with cathedral-ceiling and fireplace as well as our more intimate Catlin Room with views of the gardens. The Dining Room provides legendary service in an elegant yet comfortable setting for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Chef Allison combines classic cuisine with seasonal ingredients and innovative techniques. The menus change with the seasons to feature the freshest ingredients. Wine Spectator has recognized the wine list with an Award of Excellence. The Audubon Bar, with live piano music nightly and patio seating, provides a perfect setting for enjoying a classic cocktail.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Place To Have Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Food, Service, and Old Fashion Feel to this Place is impeccable. They do a great job and I fully recommend it for a nice dinner, or special occasion.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    72
    24
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The starter scones and biscuits were delicious. French toast was prepared as ordered and very good. Our companions enjoyed their eggs Benedict and huevos rancheros. When I asked if the OJ was fresh squeezed, the waiter admitted it was not, but said it was from Phoenix and tasted like fresh, and he was right.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyWandererPNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,391 reviews
536 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,596 helpful votes
“Eat Elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I've dined here on holidays and regular days and have always found the food to be rather mediocre and over-priced. The dining room is lovely, though, and the service has always been very good.The only reason I have returned throughout the years is that hope springs eternal and the restaurant has been the choice of some of my visitors who have heard positive reports about the Arizona Inn. My recommendation: Check out this historic inn and its beautiful grounds and consider enjoying a drink on the patio; but avoid eating in the main dining room.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
Level Contributor
431 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Turn-of-the-Century Elegance and Interesting Food Options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Arizona Inn is worth a visit just to walk the grounds and enjoy its history. FDR and Eleanor stayed here and the owner was her personal secretary. The library is worth a visit for it's atmosphere. But the food is mediocre and bit pricey. I recommend the cold vichyssoise, tiny BLTs and the chef's selection of small bites for dessert. The prickly pear lemonade gives a refreshing bit of Old Tucson too. They serve afternoon tea, but only for guests of the inn.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank culturevulture94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting for a special occasion dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Come for the atmosphere. The service is also quite good. I agree with other reviewers that the food did not live up to the promise of the setting. We enjoyed visiting in the library after our meal. Thank you, Arizona Inn, for taking such good care of a beautiful historic property.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank onecentworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Inn - The Main Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Arizona Inn - The Main Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing