We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and rundown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
Ranked #12 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy and rundown”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Warning to potenial guests, this B & B is located very close to freight railroad tracks. All night long we heard the train whistle. Trains pass through about every 45 minutes all through the night. The owner offered us one of the interior rooms saying this would be more quiet and we would not hear the train but we found it impossible to believe you would not still hear the train horn as it blasts so elected to stay somewhere else, forfeiting the expense for the two nights we had already paid for- it was that bad. On top of the noise from the train, this B&B looked to us to be very rundown. There is a for sale sign in front of it, so that may be part of this. The owner told me it is not run down but being restored, in particular the front porch. Either way, it wasn't for us.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestU, Owner at The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
The Big Blue House Inn is located in a beautiful walking neighborhood just six blocks from Tucson's beautiful new Historic Train Station and Museum as well as Hotel Congress and Fox theater. Many folks appreciate the proximity to Downtown Tucson and it's historic district. There is no freight yard, just a cute little historic train station.

Every step and phase of the historically appropriate award-winning restoration of the Big Blue House Inn must be approved by the local and state historic society. We recently received permission to restore even more of the exterior. We appreciate our guest support who have witnessed the restoration of this important piece of Tucson history.

Keep in mind we do enforce our 7 day cancellation policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    35
    4
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
91
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I recently went there to unwind the week of my birthday, and had such a wonderful, relaxing time. I loved my room which was decorated beautifully and included a kitchenette and huge comfy bed. I spent lots of time talking with Leah the owner, who was inviting, fun and helpful. The room had it's own private bath as well. I did lots of hanging out on the porch, shopping on 4th avenue (mere steps away) and going to the grocery co-op for yummies. I highly recommend this unique and well cared for inn and will make a ritual of coming at least once a year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

After staying a weekend, I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. Unique, well equipped room, favorite part being the beautiful shower. We felt centrally located to all the sights that were on our list. And to finish off each night with a glass of wine on the amazing porch, simply relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Recently, my husband and I enjoyed a night at this uniquely special B & B, which is a short drive from downtown and a short walk away from the cultural and university districts. We stayed in a charming suite dedicated to creating the ambiance Ernest Hemingway might have enjoyed during his European travels. The room was spacious and cozy with all of the needed amenities to make ourselves at home. After a day of wine tasting in the nearby city of Elgin, we had plenty of options for dining all within walking distance. The next day, we woke to a delectable, homemade breakfast compliments of the talented and welcoming hostess of the property. If you are looking for a great overnight getaway at an affordable price, you will be pleased with all the Big Blue House has to offer.

Room Tip: There is a selection of rooms that offer either full kitchens or kitchenettes depending on your need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend at the Bib Blue House just sitting and lying around the charming, well equipped room. The Breakfasts were excellent, the best we've ever eaten at a B&B. The Hostess was definitely the most cordial, interesting and articulate we've ever met. The Big Blue House is located a 3 minute walk from the University District with dozens of eclectic shops and eateries. Probably our best ever weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arizore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Recently my husband and I stayed at The Big Blue House. When we looked at photos on their website we could tell it was going to be a nice place but in person it was 10 times more beautiful. The grounds were lush with greenery and the huge wrap-around porch was so inviting. As we stepped onto it we could almost feel the history of the old house. Lea, the owner, showed us to room 5, which is a lovely 2 room suite with a private bath. The furnishings were gorgeous antiques, and there was interesting literature to read about the house. It was nice to be able to walk a short distance to restaurants, galleries and live music, then come back to a cozy room and comfy bed. And the very best part, BREAKFAST! Lea said it would be served "between 7:30ish and 9:ish," but I woke up at 9:30. When i walked into the breakfast cottage there was a delicious scent of sweet and savory in the air, but I had missed it. Then when I called to ask about checkout, Ken, the other owner, sweetly scolded me for missing breakfast. He said today had been biscuits and gravy, my favorite. When I told him that, he said if I could be there in 2 minutes, Lea would make me breakfast. I made it in time and ate the best biscuits & gravy I've ever had. Ken and Lea visited with me while i ate. They're both very friendly and down-to-earth. Lea makes everything from scratch with love and I could tell by how awesome it tasted. I went back to my room with arms full of leftovers for my sleeping husband, who awoke to breakfast in bed at a bed & breakfast.
Everything about our stay was perfect and we will definitely stay there whenever we visit Tucson. We might plan a trip just so we can stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

If the chain properties bore you, you will love The Big Blue House! You get the conveniences of the chain properties in an ultra-charming setting with the warmth of caring hosts. An added bonus is conversation and traded experiences over breakfast with the interesting guests the Inn attracts. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#61 of 130 in Tucson
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn

Property: The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
Address: 144 E University Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85705-7739
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian Queen Anne built in 1899 and lovingly restored and remodeled into Tucson's most progressive eco-friendly boutique inn. Each private suite is unique with vintage furnishing. Eco friendly features such as a RO filtered water dispenser in your own in-suite kitchen.Perfectly located on the "University Bike Boulevard" a short walk to UofA and only 2 blocks "The cultural Center of Tucson" Historic Fourth Avenue... Check out our new University area streetcar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Big Blue House Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing