We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
Ranked #12 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago, for two nights. The room was great and the wrap around porch very relaxing. It was nice and quiet and we could walk to the University or dinner nearby. Laslo the cat was best friends with anyone who would pet him. Breakfast was great one day and so-so the next. It would have been nice if you could serve yourself (what I've found at most B&Bs) instead of having it dished out for you. We would definitely go back for a weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room two and found it roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmettraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    35
    4
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
91
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Big Blue House during the 4th Avenue Street Fair 2013. Wonderful accommodations, friendly hosts, and a very nice breakfast every morning. Only 2 blocks from the Street Fair, which we enjoyed immensely. We stayed in Room 1, Zen, and felt like we had our own private front porch sitting area. Great location in Tucson! It was everything we expected, as described on the website. Will definitely come again! Thanks from Don & Mary!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donklemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We did not find this place a joy to stay there. First, the room promised was not available, so the host folks switched us to a lesser room. Secondly, the gentleman was short and not helpful when we called for a check-in time. Thirdly, we communicated three different times about a diet need we have. Yet, the need was ignored. Sadly, this was a birthday trip, so we were disappointed. We will not return.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room promised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blakemore72236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestU, Owner at The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We wish we had a chance to show all of our rooms to this guest... All of the rooms at The Big Blue House have the exact same amenities and square footage. There are no "lesser rooms"
We are disappointed this guest did not communicate their diet needs to the personal sous chef on duty at the time. All that is necessary is request and we will prepare your "special needs" meal on the spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very comfortable room. Great breakfasts. Terrific location for walking to the University. Lea and Ken were extremely helpful, not least in storing a number of parcels for me prior to my arrival. Really enjoyed sitting in a rocking chair on the spacious verandah. I'll definitely return and strongly recommend BBH to friends planning to visit Tucson.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just spent six nights here while attending the Tucson Gem Show. Felt like home after about two minutes. Lovely room with our own door and porch. We met a lot of people this week and the Big Blue House was SO much nicer than where anyone else was staying. Really a home from home, and in a great location, just minutes from 4th Avenue with it's funky bars and restaurants. We've already booked it for next year - can't praise it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Quiet rooms with private entrances. Wrap around porch for glass of wine/conversation. Good bed--I slept better than I usually do. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of hot food and pastries plus good coffee. I will stay here on any return trips. Location was very convenient and easy to find.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was an awesome place to stay. We loved the antiques and not being in a "cookie cutter" place. The attention to detail was great! We really took advantage of the in-room kitchenette (they even supplied the coffee and juice). We arrived very late and were readily accommodated! We will definitely return to The Big Blue House!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#3 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#60 of 130 in Tucson
279 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn

Property: The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
Address: 144 E University Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85705-7739
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian Queen Anne built in 1899 and lovingly restored and remodeled into Tucson's most progressive eco-friendly boutique inn. Each private suite is unique with vintage furnishing. Eco friendly features such as a RO filtered water dispenser in your own in-suite kitchen.Perfectly located on the "University Bike Boulevard" a short walk to UofA and only 2 blocks "The cultural Center of Tucson" Historic Fourth Avenue... Check out our new University area streetcar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Big Blue House Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing