We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay in a house with character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
Ranked #10 of 49 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in a house with character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Very comfortable stay in one of the Old Pueblo's older residences. Owners are fun to talk with and knowledgeable of the area history and current events. House has been updated to include modern necessities (wi-fi, hdtv, etc), but retained 19th century charm. Location is walking distance to historic downtown and University of Arizona. Complimentary in-room snacks, juices, coffee and tea is a real bonus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    34
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
87
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

All or our family went down for my youngest sister's wedding and wanted a place close to the U of A, 4th Ave and the El Presidio and downtown area. It was the right spot. Great porch to have coffee on in the morning and well kept, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for bottom floor if you are over 6 feet tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed for one night in the BBH (25/4/12) and it was absolutely lovely. The decor was very esoteric but not pretentiously so, and the room was a spacious and cool reprieve from the az sun. The owner was friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. Our kitchenette was fully stocked with yoghurt, pastries, oatmeal, juices, teas and good coffee. A wonderful stay that we'd wholeheartedly recommend!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

This place was PERFECT!!! I used to go to the University of Arizona and so I visit Tucson often, at least 3 times per year. When my husband comes out with me, we stay in a hotel. It's been a pain to stay in a hotel near 4th that isn't super expensive or kitchy, like Hotel Congress or the Mariott. So when I randomly came across a Living Socials deal for The Big Blue House - 2 nights for $159 - I had to buy it. We ended up using ON CHRISTMAS EVE!!! It was amazing. It was right by 4th (it's on University and 6th/ish), just the most perfect location. I honestly just bought it because it was a great deal for a place in Tucson and didn't really look at the details. When we drove up, the lights actually made the place blue, and the owners, who live on the premesis, let us into our room. It was absolutely AMAZING! Nothing I would ever have thought and probably something I would never have booked on my own. All of the furniture and decor is classic, gorgeous wood. But the kitchen area, which the place stocks for you with breakfast goodness and other treats, was pleasantly up to date, but fit in perfectly. And the kicker, the bathroom was outside of the room! But even with the antique beautiful furniture, there was a great flatscreen that had pretty much every awesome channel you can think of, and the bed was like sleeping in the most amazing cloud you could ever imagine. We are not people who stay inside on vacation, but we relaxed a bit and just enjoyed the room for a while when we were in town. When checking out, I had the pleasure of spending some time with the owners and their bulldog for a while and I checked out the pictures in the office too. We talked about how they bought the place and keep it as authentic as they can, and they have all the pictures from the house throughout the past like 100 years up on the wall. It's amazing, really. They have a small side house that can be rented as well, and dogs can come! I told them I have two pitbulls and the didn't judge them at all. They told me let them know the next time I want to come back and get a room and we could discuss a rate for that room so my dogs could come home to Tucson for a vacation. It was just an amazing place to stay, and it will 100% be the place I call when I need a place to stay again to see what their rates are. I just can't say enough good things about this place and I recommend it more than I recommend any other hotel I've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Anywhere is amazing, each room is unique, classic, and filled with personality and history. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellaluna12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this great big blue house. It is clean, comfortable and oh my god the fridge is always full with drinks, yogurts, fresh pastries and fruit. There was only 2 of us but I am sure if we had another person or two in the room there would have been more than enough to feed them all. It was a shame we only stayed 2 nights, but when I do come back I will make sure that I come back to the house again.The room has everything you need to make it a memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaPlakias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin City, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in Room 1. We loved sitting on the porch in the mornings drinking coffee and planning our day. We also enjoyed the quiet nieghborhood. We live in the country and were concerned about 'city noise"--not a problem here. This residential neighborhood is within walking distance of downtown, 4th Ave., and U of A. We would stay there again and will recommend to our friends and family. We would like to live in that neighborhood some day. The Ramsey's are friendly, helpful people who gave us great advice on what to see and do while in the area

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktbrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestU, Owner at The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
We enjoyed your company and it is always fun and a pleasure to introduce potential new neighbors to this beautiful University area historic neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here for a week prior to moving into our new house. The cottage was clean and pleasant. We had cats with us and the owners were wonderful about that. I would highly recommend the Big Blue House to anyone looking to stay near the University, 4th St., and downtown. We will recommend the Big Blue House to family and friends when they come to visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestU, Owner at The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
We are thrilled that you appreciated our free-standing Pet Friendly Cottage. Although the cottage is our only pet friendly room, we do enjoy our furry friends... and we like the pets too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
1.5 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#55 of 129 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tucson Marriott University Park
1.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#26 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn

Property: The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
Address: 144 E University Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85705
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian Queen Anne built in 1899 and lovingly restored and remodeled into Tucson's most progressive eco-friendly boutique inn. Each private suite is unique with vintage furnishing. Eco friendly features such as a RO filtered water dispenser in your own in-suite kitchen.Perfectly located on the "University Bike Boulevard" a short walk to UofA and only 2 blocks "The cultural Center of Tucson" Historic Fourth Avenue... Check out our new University area streetcar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Big Blue House Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing