We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bike Trail!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rillito River Park

Rillito River Park
Ranked #41 of 278 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Bike Trail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have used this trail several times with our bikes on this visit to Tucson-it is a very nicely maintained trail (asphalt), and there are many places to detour for lunch and shopping. Hope the people of Tucson realize how lucky they are to have such a facility, and thank you for sharing it with us visitors. It is nice because I love riding my bike but do not care to compete with the traffic on the streets.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blondeegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great urban lark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I use this park for my walking workouts. the walking paths are well maintained. there are restrooms and drinking fountains along the entire park. the views are very nice, you have views of the Catalina mountains. this park runs from east Tucson to west Tucson. this is a great park to go to. I would highly recommend this park.

Helpful?
1 Thank pete r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great easy walking trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a great 12 mile walking trail along the "river" . You can access it from several major street and don't have to walk the entire route . It is also used by cyclists, runners and dog walkers. At times you will also encounter a horse rider.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eurotuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, NM
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Paved and dirt trails, some facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This trail is about 12 miles long. We ran five miles on East end starting at Craycroft and going west. We stayed on the North side of the river. There are a few facilities, parks, restrooms and drinking fountains along the way but I would recommend carrying or stashing some water. This was during an unusual cold spell in January and some of the water was shut off or frozen. Nice trail. If you run on the paved part you will encounter lots of cyclists. Everyone was courteous. More info on pima.gov/nrpr/parks and traillink.com or just google rillito river trail

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CopperMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“*** Year around Cycling ***”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This linear park is now part of the, not quite completed, Loop system. " The Loop is being developed around metropolitan Tucson with links to Marana, Oro Valley, and South Tucson. Pima County residents and visitors on foot, bikes, skates, and horses can enjoy the more than 110 miles of multi-use paths that have already been completed. If it doesn't have a motor, it's good to go on The Loop." The paths are all great for safe, car free, biking, hiking and also offer some of the area's most scenic desert views, wildlife and birdwatching, along with some great urban pathways as well. This is the desert so always prepare accordingly, carrying ample drinking water and sun protection is a must. Trees along parts of these trails do provide nice daytime shade and there are lots of bathroom/water stations along the way. Like all metropolitan parkways, common sense about leaving valuables in your parked cars and use after dark should be followed. That being said this is an invaluable source of healthy entertainment plus opportunity for physical activity and best of all it's free!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZONATRVLRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rillito River Park also viewed

 

Been to Rillito River Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing