We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful canyon”
Review of Madera Canyon

Madera Canyon
Ranked #10 of 288 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sundance, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful canyon”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The park is nice and the trails are good. Not much different than the rest of the mountains that are not part of the park system

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    109
    21
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A little birdie told me about this haven”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

A delightful picnic and hiking spot is a short drive from
GreenValley AZ. During the week it was not crowded and easy to find a parking spot. Our guests enjoyed hiking one of the steep trails. We enjoyed reading in the shade!

We did not have to pay the fee since we have a National Park pass . Without the pass it would cost $5 very reasonable for such a serene spot to picnic and relax.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old Baldy; another winning Arizona hike!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Spent 5 days hiking 5 trails- approx. 4/5 hours long- in addition to other historical, interesting sights. This trail was nearly empty, late on a Friday afternoon. Snow pack and pine needles were such a contrast to the rocky, HOT desert floor we'd hiked just hours before. Hauntingly quiet & lovely with a moon over the peak in the bright blue Arizona sky. What a wonderful jaunt away from the frigid east coast.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“nice place”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

$5 day pass
we parked at madera picnic area. we hiked nature trail then walked back from the end of the paved road. we saw lots of birds and deers. it was a nice trip.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Great Hike (Popular Birding Destination)”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Madera Canyon is one of the most visited natural areas in Southern AZ during the "hot" bird migration seasons (spring). On our visit in January, we saw few birds in their natural setting, but you can watch birds at feeders (see below). This recreation area, administered by the US Forest Service, is very popular on weekends anytime of year, so get there early to park at a trailhead if visiting Saturday or Sunday.

We enjoyed a nice hike one Sunday morning, leaving the afternoon free for another attraction. We drove up the hill to parking lot B, stopping first at Santa Rita Lodge to see birds at bird feeders. Park in the spots marked "gift shop." Wild turkeys were happily strutting their stuff, and we could also watch woodpeckers, jays, and finches. Bring your binoculars.

At parking lot B, we took the Nature Trail (one way: 1.8 miles). This hike has a good blend of uphill, downhill, and flat walking (rated "easy") and winds through many different habitat types. Be prepared with hiking shoes, a wide-brimmed hat, jacket, and plenty of water and sunscreen. This trail ends uphill at parking lot A. We decided to do a "loop" by taking the paved road downhill back to lot B. You can do this too, or go back over the nature trail again. I would not advise parking at the top lot (lot A) and taking the nature trail down if you want to do a loop, as you'll be hiking up on hot pavement to get back to your car. Much nicer hiking down on the road.

We finished our hike around lunchtime, so we had a picnic at one of the many tables in the area. Bring a lunch! Crowds really began driving in at this time (Sunday around 1 PM), so we were glad to be finished by then. The hike was very uncrowded in the morning.

Can't wait to return during peak birdwatching months.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Satisfaction7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madera Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Madera Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing