We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel of the Coronado Forest !”
Review of Madera Canyon

Madera Canyon
Ranked #10 of 287 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A jewel of the Coronado Forest !”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great trails, interesting variety of places to stay overnight, neat place to do some birding, and generally an oasis in the desert, typical of our "sky islands" in Southern Arizona.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank packratinaz6080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    109
    21
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Madera Canyon”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I don't live that far from Madera Canyon. So we visit there often. We just love the view from the canyon, you can see all the way to Tucson. Lots of wild life, we usually take our guests for a drive up to the canyon. They love it. The bed and breakfast is operating and there are small cabins to rent. Definitely a bidders paradise. We saw a lot of wild turkeys last time we were there. It's worth the short drive from Tucson.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank judywoody13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Ohio
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Incredible natural area”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Everytime I come to the Tucson area a visit to Madera Canyon is in order. Even if you can't hike one of the great trails it's just a marvelous place to take a breath. Saw a skunk and wild turkey just tonight.

Helpful?
3 Thank savoy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Canyon with Birds”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Pretty area. Hiking fairly easy but lots of birds. Not many people. Would love to stay at a Bed and Breakfast but I am not sure how it looks after the fire? Day trip is plenty for younger kids.

Helpful?
1 Thank Desertdweller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Birders paradise”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Madera Canyon is a world-reknowned birding destination with fantastic hiking trails and plenty of places to eat and to stay. There are lots of trails to choose from so hikers of almost any ability will have a good time. If you prefer, you can stake out a place to relax near one of the many feeders and you'll see a huge variety of beautiful birds. Best place I have ever found to photograph birds.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackBeltOjibwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madera Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Madera Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing