We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”
Review of Gates Pass

Gates Pass
Ranked #8 of 282 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Beloit, WI
Level Contributor
175 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We drove through Gates Pass on our way to Tuscon. Stopped at the wayside a little early for sunset but still got some really nice photos. Love the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jv50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    177
    25
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Saquaros on Rocky Slopes & Spectacular Sunsets”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

One of the most scenic places in Tucson, Arizona, Gates Pass is where you can observe a great desert landscape populated by saguaros on steep mountain slopes and see truly spectacular sunsets. I made sure to stop at the popular overlook at the summit of Gates Pass Road to snap a few photos. I've included them with this review. I came early, an hour before sunset, to guarantee a good vantage point for the photos. The overlook had restrooms, ample parking and great views in just about every direction. The road itself which passes through Tucson Mountain Park is a wonderfully scenic drive. I drove it several times during my stay in Tucson and looked forward to it each time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rusticpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Qc
Level Contributor
366 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Great view close to the city”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful access for the area leading to Sonora Desert Museum, Old Tucson and Saguaro National Park western section. At the Gates Pass Overlook, situated on the right of the road before going down, there is a trail (Gates Pass trailhead). Go down that trail (at least a little), to feel being into Gates Pass and to enjoy Gates Pass on foot, it is worth it.
The other access to this area (S Kinney rd) is also very nice and will connect you to the Tucson-Ajo Hwy. I would recommend best to come from Gates Pass road and leave by S Kinney road.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing overlook”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just the views of the overlook into the valley are worth the trip and it is pretty close to downtown!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank IPA_Connoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great sunsets”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Driving over Gates Pass is beautiful anytime of the year, and convenient since it is right on the way to the Desert Museum. It is especially lovely in the spring if there have been any rains during the fall and winter to bring forth wildflowers. If so, this is a great way to see them. Views to the west are spectacular and a pullout at the top provides a few short hiking trails, picnic tables, and a restroom. If there are any afternoon clouds, Gates Pass is one of the best areas to view colorful Arizona sunsets.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TucsonBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gates Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing