We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Step Back In Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barrio Historico

Barrio Historico
Ranked #73 of 268 things to do in Tucson
Attraction details
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Step Back In Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

True to barrio style, this area of Tucson needs to be experienced. Charming, unique. historical buildings - perfect for photographers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank MisizJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“History and Culture on the street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I love driving through Barrio Historico. In the daytime it's fun to see the old mixed with the renovated and imagine what the narrow little streets were like long before a group of misguided civic leaders mowed down half of the Barrio to build the Tucson Convention Center. At night, especially around Christmas, I love it when I catch some curtains open and I can see inside for a peek at the high beamed ceilings and my curiosity gets a glance at how people decorate their special barrio adobes. The best neighborhood tradition, Las Posadas pagent with Carrillo schoolkids and their neighbors, La Pilita museo, El Tiradito for a prayer or two - and my favorite restaurant meal in the world, El Minuto's albondigas.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Howdydoothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A real treasure for Tucson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Part of a walking tour, with a guide, which is almost essential to get the most out of what you are seeing. Tucson history is a real blend of ethnic cultures....this area is an eye-opener.

Helpful?
3 Thank Arizonagrandma240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“quaint tucson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

restored barrio in downtown tucson's old pueblo area; colorful homes and offices in a setting reminiscent of the early days of tucson. leisurely walking in a several block area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank monsoon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

See AZ original buildings and recognize what originally brought people to beautiful desert land.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrio Historico also viewed

 

Been to Barrio Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing