We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Tucson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 45 Tucson B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2007

Spent 3 nights at the Sam Hughes Inn. I would recommend this B&B unconditionally. Centrally located but peaceful and relaxing setting.
Private back yard with trees, flowers and a fountain. Hostess is welcoming, informative and a great cook; wonderful breakfasts. We stayed in the sperate room out back and felt we were in our own private retreat. Convenient little touches were very welcome - just about any toiletry need provided, a mini fridge with bottled water, and interesting Southwestern decor. Located only a block from the University and within an easy drive of many sites. We definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ProfMercator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 287 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2007

Set in a peaceful location, but close to main roads etc.
Tastefully decorated bedrooms all en suite - even the single room was spacious.
Lovely gardens.
Laptop for guests to use - for email and internet searching.
Friendly and helpful hostess - nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfasts to die for!!! - definately the best we had during our 3 week stay in Arizona.
A real 'home from home' feel about the place.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: May 2007
Thank ConcordeExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

We've stayed three times at the Sam Hughes Inn, and each stay has been better than the last.

The Sam Hughes Inn is a place that feels like home, decorated in a casual Southwest style. We've stayed in two different rooms, both of which were quiet and comfortable with their own private bath.

There's a large family room loaded with books and magazines, plus a TV, which is a great place to relax. Wireless Internet access is available, as well as a computer that you can use (in case you didn't bring your laptop). The back yard has a cool, shaded garden

The Inn is just two blocks from the University of Arizona -- you can easily walk to all the shops close to campus.

The best part of this B&B is Susan, the owner and manager of the Sam Hughes Inn. Susan cooks those wonderful Southwest breakfasts herself, and is a walking encyclopedia of restaurants and things to do in the Tucson area. Her suggestions have helped us discover a side of Tucson that tourists rarely discover.

Depending on the season, room rates range from less than $100 to less than $150 per night. It's a great value!!!

One thing that we really find convenient: The Sam Hughes Inn has a web page that shows availability and prices.

We'll be scheduling our next visit to the Sam Hughes Inn as soon as the Spring Baseball schedule is published.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank daveaColoradoSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

We stayed at the Sam Hughes Inn based on Trip Advisor write-ups and we are so glad we did. It is the perfect B&B in our opinion. It is centrally located in the University district, just the right size, comfortable, clean and charming with a local flavor. The owner, Susan, has anticipated your every need, so your room is stocked with everything you may have forgotten. Her breakfasts are wonderful gourmet creations and ample enough to skip lunch if you are so inclined. She is the perfect hostess, available and helpful with suggestions if you want them but not hovering or intrusive if you wish to read or relax in the wonderful garden. We enjoyed staying in the private casita; the other rooms are in the main adobe house.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Geneva101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2007

This was one of the nicest b&bs we've ever stayed in and we've stayed in a lot. The location is excellent, the house, yard, and casita were impeccable, and the breakfasts were delicious. Susan, the innkeeper was made for this job. Even though you're in the middle of Tucson, the lovely desert landscaping and trickling fountain make you feel like you've been transported to a hacienda a hundred miles and a century away.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wanderer773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2007

This was the only B & B we stayed in on our month's trip and it was a good experience.

The welcome was friendly and helpful without being overpowering and the house itself was beautifully appointed with a lovely garden and a very comfortable and well-equipped communal area.

Although the Inn is close to main roads and restaurants and near the University it is situated on a quiet and peaceful road.

Our room was quite small though with an ample bathroom.

The breakfast was tasty - fruit, omelette and bacon and home-made bread - and there was plenty but it was the same on the two mornings that we were there, with no choice.

We would have been happy to have stayed longer.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank ComptonMcKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2007

We stayed at the Sam Hughes in for four nights in February 2007 and found the room clean, bathroom clean and stocked with many of those little things you sometimes forget and the breakfast was always good.

Host was very accomodating - one morning we needed to leave early and we were able to have a continental type breakfast instead of having to go without one.

The inn was on a very quiet street and affordably priced.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank Lynd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.9 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#19 of 129 in Tucson
1,017 reviews
9.1 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adobe Rose Inn
Adobe Rose Inn
#7 of 45 in Tucson
282 reviews
13.1 mi away
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
11.2 mi away
Inn at Civano
Inn at Civano
#17 of 45 in Tucson
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2020 E 7th St, Tucson, AZ 85719-5603
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: $90 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam Hughes Inn is a 1930's California Spanish styled bed and breakfast with red tiled roof, original oak floors and Art Deco architectural details, located in the residential Sam Hughes Historic District next to the University of Arizona. Lush mature foliage surrounds house and walled fountain garden. Walk to campus, bus, restaurants & University Medical Center. Only minutes by car to local attractions, downtown & airport. Four bedrooms/four baths with high speed wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing