We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and welcoming - home from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Downland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and welcoming - home from home.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2007

This was the only B & B we stayed in on our month's trip and it was a good experience.

The welcome was friendly and helpful without being overpowering and the house itself was beautifully appointed with a lovely garden and a very comfortable and well-equipped communal area.

Although the Inn is close to main roads and restaurants and near the University it is situated on a quiet and peaceful road.

Our room was quite small though with an ample bathroom.

The breakfast was tasty - fruit, omelette and bacon and home-made bread - and there was plenty but it was the same on the two mornings that we were there, with no choice.

We would have been happy to have stayed longer.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ComptonMcKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    24
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
99
45
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2007

We stayed at the Sam Hughes in for four nights in February 2007 and found the room clean, bathroom clean and stocked with many of those little things you sometimes forget and the breakfast was always good.

Host was very accomodating - one morning we needed to leave early and we were able to have a continental type breakfast instead of having to go without one.

The inn was on a very quiet street and affordably priced.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2007

We've made this B&B our home away from home in Tucson. We love the location...both to the University and the whole downtown area, the breakfast that can't be beat, the delightful courtyard , and the down home comfort of the room itself.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TucsonHereWeCome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2007

We had a great stay at this inn. I was at a conference, so needed to be close to the university and my husband was on vacation. We had very nice breakfasts, so we did not need lunch. Susan helped us with a restaurant review list so we found excellent meals for dinner. We had a car but I think one could have managed without except to get to and from the inn. The inn had a wonderful garden and excellent room which had the incidentals one needs that the airlines give you trouble over. It was an excellent choice and priced below the local hotel rooms.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank helloPortTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila.,Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2007

My friend and I spent 4 nights at this beautiful, southwestern Inn. It is located in an historic neighborhood in Tucson. The innkeeper, Susan Banner, is a warm friendly host. She makes a beautiful breakfast evey morning and is available for questions, directions and conversation. It felt like staying with a friend. I would definitely go back to this lovely Inn.

  • Liked — The breakfasts
  • Disliked — only one bed in the room
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lnmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2007

I actually came to TA looking for a place to stay. It was my wife's birthday trip and I have lots of apprehensions about B & B's. This Inn was very comfortable & private with great access to the U of A and Tuscon. Our breakfasts were sumptous. Susan Banner is a treasure of an innkeeper. She's warm ,inviting and quite interesting. The Inn was exactly as shown and our bath in the Nogales room was roomy & comfortable. Our bed was very comfortable and we had everything we could have possibly needed. Susan's attention to detail was quite evident in each area of the house.
If you're lucky while there , maybe Susan will fix the blueberry nut french toast casserole with the home-made blueberry syrup for you.
I look forward to returning.....

  • Liked — Susan Banner -innkeeper was great
  • Disliked — I could not stay a couple more days.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DonaldBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2007

LIke the other posters, I must agree, the inn is gorgeous and a real find. Lovely setting (old fashioned suburban Arizona neighborhood, complete with cactus and 'desert rose' colored houses here and there), beautiful property, and the courtyard's a delight. The location can't be beat---close to everyting yet tucked away in a peaceful little enclave. The Uof A is an easy walk and I spent my mornings strolling there to build up an appetite for the delicious and filling breakfasts. The freeway's not far away so you can daytrip very easily---I went to Bisbee, Tombstone, Organ Pipe, Nogales and even Phoneix as day excursions, and there's plenty to keep you occupied in the Tucson area as well. Susan, the innkeeper, is helpful and has lots of great suggestions for where to eat or what to see. And as a single woman traveling alove, I really enjoyed and recommend this inn. I'll be back!

  • Liked — The location and the food and the innitself
  • Disliked — Going home :-(
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early! It's a popular spot for folks traveling to the University nearby
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kittygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#56 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2020 E 7th St, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam Hughes Inn is a 1930's California Spanish styled bed and breakfast with red tiled roof, original oak floors and Art Deco architectural details, located in the residential Sam Hughes Historic District next to the University of Arizona. Lush mature foliage surrounds house and walled fountain garden. Walk to campus, bus, restaurants & University Medical Center. Only minutes by car to local attractions, downtown & airport. Four bedrooms/four baths with high speed wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing