We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil tucson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 47 Tucson B&B and Inns
napa valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“tranquil tucson”
Reviewed August 23, 2006

a quiet, tranquil environment tucked into a neat neighborhood near the university campus.....excellent breakfasts and comfortable accomodations make one feel at home or visiting your favorite aunt betty. highly recommended!

Helpful?
2 Thank drcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    24
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
100
45
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2006

Inviting home in an historic district of Tucson. Near University of Arizona and all that is college related. The back patio and yard area are a delight with sittinga areas, shade trees, a fountain and peaceful atmosphere. The large sitting room with its terazzo floor, inviting leather couches and multitude of shelved books is a fine retreat. Susan, the inn keeper, provides an excellent breakfast and stimulating conversation. The room was bright and clean. The insuite bath was well stocked, clean and most functional. No effort was spared to make our stay a pleasant one and to accomodate our needs. Wnile there an exceptional amount of rain fell during the nite, an umbrella was promptly provided without request. Directions to nearby restaurants and other establishments were promptly and correctly provided. When we are next in Tucson we shall definitely make it a point to call the Sam Huges Inn our home away from home.

  • Liked — Cleanlyness and service
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for directions to Bob Dobbs
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Number9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2006

I have stayed at the Sam Hughes Inn four or five times over the last several years. Each time I have stayed for from three to ten days. My experience staying there has been without exception wonderful. The Inn is very attractive with beautiful landscaping and it is quiet and peaceful. The back garden area is just lovely with a fountain and wonderful flowers. The Inn is in a very good location in Tucson.
Innkeeper Susan Banner is a charming lady and she prepares the most delicious breakfasts which are included with the room cost. The guests at the Inn are invariably interesting people often visiting at or connected to the nearby University of Arizona and the conversations at the breakfast table always are fun and stimulating. The small size of the Inn ( four or five rooms) makes it particularly pleasant. As you can see, I am a very big fan of the Sam Hughes Inn and will continue to stay there as often as possible.

Helpful?
4 Thank paulgSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2006

Our stay at the Sam Hughes Inn was perfectly enjoyable - how often do you write a thank you note to your hotelier? We did, because she was just so thoughtful - offering to help in every way that she could - and keeping everything just spotless & comfortable. My only concern was a slight allergy to the mexican blankets that hung in our room (the Nogales) but next time I'll just request the little guest house out back...I'd definitely stay there again, and think it's a great location and amazing value when you consider the huge breakfast that's included in the rate.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caryperk39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 1, 2006

My first visit to the Sam Hughes Inn was in February (2006). I did lots of research on the internet before making a reservation and can truly say I was thrilled from the first moment I walked in the door. My room, the Pima, was gorgeous with hardwood floors and an extremely comfortable bed.

I sat outside in the garden reading for an hour that first afternoon listening to the sounds of birds and the fountain and wishing I could stay for a week. Not being a “morning person” and rarely getting up for breakfast even when staying at bed & breakfasts in the past, something motivated me to get up early and be there for breakfast. I wasn’t disappointed. I have never enjoyed breakfast more than that first morning at the Sam Hughes Inn.

Susan Banner is a superb cook and has a dining room and the presentation that make you want to linger over breakfast. That first morning I was almost late for the tour I was supposed to take. I gave up the idea of lunch that day and didn’t even think of eating again until dinner.

When I found out I had to be back again in April and that I had told everyone in the group I was with what a wonderful place I was staying at, I was afraid to wait until I got back home to call Susan and ask her if I could stay again in April. After my second visit last weekend and no more trips scheduled, I am now motivated to find a new excuse to visit Tucson again soon. It was so much fun getting to know Susan and the other guests that by the time I was ready to head home again, it felt like I was leaving friends. Sam Hughes Inn has personality like its owner and makes you want to come back often.
Sam Hughes I

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2006

We first discovered the Sam Hughes Inn in 2001 and have been returning ever since for periods of a few days to three weeks. The Inn is conveniently located in central Tucson in the Sam Hughes historic district, within walking distance of the University of Arizona, as well as a library, post office, several cafes, and a grocery store. It is small (4 guest rooms), with a large, charming, and relaxing garden with gazebo, fountain, and places to sit under the trees to read or have a refreshing drink (BYOB). There is also a capacious living room with a TV (although individual rooms have TVs as well) and a huge wall of books for guests' use. A small den off the garden has a wireless computer available to those in residence.
Susan Banner, the owner, has decorated the house and rooms tastefully in Southwest style, serves a marvellous and ample breakfast, and couldn't be more helpful with suggestions of places to visit, eat, shop---in outlying areas as well as in Tucson. We enjoy her company--as well as that of others at the breakfast table. Susan makes her guests feel like family, which is why we always look forward to returning.

Helpful?
5 Thank svk342016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 15, 2006

The Sam Hughes Inn is on a quiet street near the University of Arizona. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming. The furnishings were comfortable and fun. We stayed in the Tombstone room which was a most luxurious bit of the old southwest with everything one could need - big, fluffy towels, toiletries, hair dryer, and a large tiled corner shower. The courtyard garden was lovely-with flowering plants and a tranquil water feature. We used the shaded patio table for an afternoon picnic! Breakfast was delicious all three mornings and our innkeeper was most helpful with directions and dinner suggestions. We will definitely go back again!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#59 of 130 in Tucson
284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
688 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
961 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2020 E 7th St, Tucson, AZ 85719-5603
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam Hughes Inn is a 1930's California Spanish styled bed and breakfast with red tiled roof, original oak floors and Art Deco architectural details, located in the residential Sam Hughes Historic District next to the University of Arizona. Lush mature foliage surrounds house and walled fountain garden. Walk to campus, bus, restaurants & University Medical Center. Only minutes by car to local attractions, downtown & airport. Four bedrooms/four baths with high speed wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing