We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

First, Susan is very good company. She and I talked a lot during the time I was there getting information about transferring to the University of Arizona and she was very helpful giving me information about the local housing market. The Inn is beautiful, the rooms are very nice. It was very quiet when I was there and I loved that. We had amazing breakfasts every day and I could count on her to be around if I had a question about something. I would reccomend this and will definitely be back when I come back to see the apartment I want to rent! The courtyard in the back is a beautiful peaceful place and the Inn itself is charming and beautiful. Plenty of public spaces to do any business or read.

Room Tip: Make sure to go to breakfast, make time for it if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariab1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    24
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
99
45
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were very comfortable at Sam Hughes Inn, like home with a southwestern flavor. Susan is a great hostess. The location is quiet, close to the university. Rooms are comfortable & cozy. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klrichardson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Susan graciousness made it a delight to stay. Well located with comfortable rooms and a great courtyard. Overall a welcomed classic Southwestern feel. I'm definitely booking the Inn when I return to Tucson.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Susan was very accommodating and helpful. It was like staying at a friend's private home with comfortable rooms and excellent location near the university. Very clean and cozy. Met some very interesting other guests yet felt quite free to come and go. Would highly recommend staying at Sam Hughes Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Wonderful spot, lovely, comfortable bedroom with beautiful courtyard. Susan is a special person, and her breakfasts are delicious. The perfect place to stay in Tucson, convenient, but quiet location. I was there for 6 nights and can't wait to return. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hostess was welcoming, knowledgeable and personable. Interesting guests because of nearby University. Helpful in restaurant and sites choices. The fact that Susan (owner/hostess) does everything herself makes it special. We would forego the best hotels in Tucson to stay at Sam Hughes Inn next time we're in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were attending a sporting event at the university. This was perfect - nice quiet place, walking distance to the campus.
We stayed in the Tombstone room which is separate from the main house. Very cozy and the courtyard was pleasant to sit around in (nice and shady).
We'd stay there again

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#56 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2020 E 7th St, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam Hughes Inn is a 1930's California Spanish styled bed and breakfast with red tiled roof, original oak floors and Art Deco architectural details, located in the residential Sam Hughes Historic District next to the University of Arizona. Lush mature foliage surrounds house and walled fountain garden. Walk to campus, bus, restaurants & University Medical Center. Only minutes by car to local attractions, downtown & airport. Four bedrooms/four baths with high speed wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing