We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Located so close to the University of Arizona and a lovely, old home. So warmly welcomed by Susan and her precious little girl, Lucy. Very clean, very accommodating. I am an early riser and Susan adjusted the living room lights to come on earlier. Breakfast both mornings was delicious and beautifully presented. The courtyard is so attractive and peaceful. We had a great visit with Susan and in Tucson.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetteT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    24
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
99
45
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I spent three nights at Susan's and four days buried in the Archives at the University of Arizona--only about a 15-minute walk from the Sam Hughes Inn. There was no need to have a car. The room, the only single at the Inn, was just right. Susan thoughtfully has the coffee pot going for early risers, and her breakfasts set me up for the day. The sunny plaza (it's really larger than a patio) was a lovely, quiet place to read and relax.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sallie_M286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Sam Hughes Inn in mid-February for four days/three nights. Susan is very friendly and makes her guests feel right at home AND is a font of knowledge about the area. Our comfortable, clean room overlooked the very beautiful, peaceful courtyard/patio. The breakfasts were yummy with plenty of coffee available. Looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Book early, she fills up fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was an incredible stay. Susan and here lovely little dog Lucy were gracious hosts, welcoming in every way. The room was perfect! Clean, comfortable, well appointed, and restful. The courtyard was just lovely, a visual feast. And then there was breakfast - outstanding! Beautifully prepared and served. This was easily the best of our Arizona trip - all of which was wonderful!

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are especially lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbsbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sam Hughes Inn 5 days/4 nights. Susan, the innkeeper, is a wonderful conversationalist and a great cook.....every morning the breakfast was amazing and filling! Always an egg dish, always a side of bacon or sausage, always a fresh fruit side and a pastry treat. The inn is spotless and you can tell Susan takes great pride in her inn and service. The open living room has a library of book choices (take one and leave one) for your enjoyment. The courtyard is inviting and spacious. A wonderful find that comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a cozy B+B with a very nice host. Breakfast is amazing. I could have spent my trip to Tucson just hanging out in the backyard, which is full of plants, cacti, and a soothing fountain. I would recommend this place to anybody visiting Tucson! I hope one day to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Sam Hughes Inn was fantastic! I have been to many B&Bs and this one has been my favourite. The owner, Susan, is very nice and really looks after her guests needs! The Inn is in a lovely, cozy house. The rooms are fantastic and the breakfasts are delicious and different each day! The Inn is situated on a quiet street, very close to the University of Arizona. It was a perfect place in a perfect location. A great big recommendation for anyone visiting Tuscon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fictitious_force
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
663 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#56 of 128 in Tucson
273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2020 E 7th St, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam Hughes Inn is a 1930's California Spanish styled bed and breakfast with red tiled roof, original oak floors and Art Deco architectural details, located in the residential Sam Hughes Historic District next to the University of Arizona. Lush mature foliage surrounds house and walled fountain garden. Walk to campus, bus, restaurants & University Medical Center. Only minutes by car to local attractions, downtown & airport. Four bedrooms/four baths with high speed wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing