We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sam Hughes Inn, Excellent neighborhood B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 46 Tucson B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 30, 2011

The Sam Hughes Inn is an excellent B&B in the historic Sam Hughes Neighborhood of Tucson. An oasis close to the main university campus. I stayed in the cottage in the back which has an en-suite bathroom, fridge, and wireless internet. On one wall there is a humorous picture of a saloon in Tombstone titled "Dry Heat" -- the owner clearly had some fun while remodeling. Breakfast is served in the main house in the dining room. There is a spacious living room which worked well to host some family friends for tea. The owner (Susan Barnes) is attentive to details and goes the extra mile for her guests. After you stay here, you will happily recommend it to everyone else too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoulderCharlesC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 284 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our experience at the Sam Hughes in was in all aspects delightful. The room we had was spacious and well appointed. Susan prepares an excellent, nutritious breakfast, and is a most gracious host. We visit Tucson at least once a year and, if we are fortunate to be able to book a room at Sam Hughes Inn, we will most certainly do so.

Room Tip: Although we had but one room and it was excellent, I cannot but believe that all the others are equa...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed here for a business trip, and Susan was an attentive host who took care of food, lodging, AND keeping us all on our work schedule. The location was not just close to campus, but in a wonderful historic district that was great fun to walk through. The rooms were quiet and furnished with whimsy and taste.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at the Sam Hughes Inn in October for 2 days and found it a delightful place to stay made especially so by our hostess Susan (not forgetting Lucy) who couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. The rooms and house are spotlessly clean and there is everything there you could possibly want, nothing was too much trouble for Susan she made us feel most welcome and we would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This had all the charm and atmosphere that one might expect in top end B&B in the UK. The ample breakfasts, served on a communal table, were delicious and varied with no repetition over six days. Our room was quiet and comfortable with many little touches added by our, thoughtful, unflappable and informative, hostess, Susan. There was a succession of very interesting fellow guests. JCA, London UK

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

A delightful historic inn, warmly hosted by Susan. Close to the university, yet peaceful and welcoming. Great breakfast to start the day off right.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Staying at the Sam Hughes Inn was a perfect introduction to Tucson. Our, lovely innkeeper, Susan, made us feel at home in her home. We stayed in the Tombstone room which was in the casita. A short walk to the main house thru a delightful patio and garden was how we went each morning to the dining room and a scrumptious breakfast. Susan shared her extensive knowledge of the area and answered our many questions. The property is spotless and very well maintained. It is VERY convenient to the university and in a charming neighborhood. We certainly plan to return and hope to stay in the same room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midge W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#59 of 129 in Tucson
290 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#19 of 129 in Tucson
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
1.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
700 reviews
2.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2020 E 7th St, Tucson, AZ 85719-5603
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: $115 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam Hughes Inn is a 1930's California Spanish styled bed and breakfast with red tiled roof, original oak floors and Art Deco architectural details, located in the residential Sam Hughes Historic District next to the University of Arizona. Lush mature foliage surrounds house and walled fountain garden. Walk to campus, bus, restaurants & University Medical Center. Only minutes by car to local attractions, downtown & airport. Four bedrooms/four baths with high speed wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Visit Barbados, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing