We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn and hope to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Inn and hope to return!”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I came to Tuscon for a NCAA Softball tournament, to see my daughter play. I was traveling by myself and found this bed and breakfast to be quite charming. When I got there, Susan Banner met me at the door, and told me the guest she was expecting besides me had to cancel, so she was moving me into a larger room, same price as the smaller one. The rooms are clean, cool and quiet. It was perfect for me alone, but I could also see bringing my family, as the garden/patio area is very roomy and so is the great room. The breakfast was wonderful, and plentiful and the conversation with my other "houseguests" was really fun. I had never been to a B&B before, and Susan has definitely set the bar high for my next experience ! I would return to this Inn, the price was very reasonable, the location to U of A was perfect. Hope you enjoy it as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rnewman678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    24
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
99
45
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We had a totally delightful stay. Wonderful breakfasts, interesting company at the table. Calm, peaceful atmosphere in the lovely garden. The room was comfortable and we slept very well. Good tips from the hostess for places to visit and eat. We were well located for the places we had scheduled to visit. The tub and sink drains in our bathroom were very slow; we didn't mention it at the time. but those things have an accumulative effect .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarynBurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We recently stayed at the Sam Hughes Inn by the U of A in Tucson. It was a return trip for us, and we were once again happy with our experience. The inn is a pretty hacienda in a quiet neighborhood close to the university and downtown. We stayed in the Santa Fe room, which is a large room on the back of the house and facing a large and pleasant courtyard with trees and flowers and a fountain. Susan is a great host: helpful and knowledgeable about places to visit and eat. She is also respectful and nonintrusive to her guests. She serves large and creative sit down breakfasts at a long table in the dining area. This inn is a very good value for us, as it is far more personal and comfortable than hotels, and with 4-5 rooms to rent out, it is also a nice size for meeting people yet having private and quiet space too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwtravelerOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We spent three nights at the Sam Hughes Inn and highly recommend it for value and hospitality. During our stay our rental car was rear ended and Susan was most helpful in assisting us to sort out our problems. The location is quiet and the breakfasts are outstanding. We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frits1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park ridge , IL
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Having only stayed at a couple B&B's before visiting Tucson a couple weeks ago, my wife and I were not sure what to expect. we found ourselves looking at each other after our three night stay asking why we haven't stayed at B&B's more often. The Sam Hughes Inn ( Tombstone room) had all the things you would expect; comfortable queen size bed, frig, great shower and bathroom, TV, small sitting area and desk. The outside yard area was perfect for reading a book, sitting in the sun or taking a nap. The three breakfasts we had were much better than the breakfasts we had at the Marriott resort two days before our stay at the Sam Hughes Inn. The close location to the U of A campus was a real plus. Don't miss this "gem" in Tucson

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckeith916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2011

My stay at this Bed And Breakfast was very enjoyable The Breakfast was superlative, the bed was excellent, and the location was very convenient. Sam Hughes Inn felt authentically southwest. I enjoyed the back yard seclusion and lovely garden. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Tucson. Kimberly from Seattle.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lola60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2010

My husband and I spent three lovely nights at the Sam Hughes Inn (bed and breakfast.) Susan and Banner was wonderful host; she is very knowledgeable about the Tucson area, and an excellent cook! Our breakfasts were delicious and nutritious (Susan was kind enough to share a few recipes with me.) Our room was very quaint, comfortable and the bedding was SUPERB!!!!!! This B&B is very conveniently located (near the university) in Tucson's historic district. We will definitely stay at the Sam Hugh's Inn when we return to Tucson!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvallera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#59 of 130 in Tucson
282 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
683 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
954 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2020 E 7th St, Tucson, AZ 85719-5603
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam Hughes Inn is a 1930's California Spanish styled bed and breakfast with red tiled roof, original oak floors and Art Deco architectural details, located in the residential Sam Hughes Historic District next to the University of Arizona. Lush mature foliage surrounds house and walled fountain garden. Walk to campus, bus, restaurants & University Medical Center. Only minutes by car to local attractions, downtown & airport. Four bedrooms/four baths with high speed wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing