We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food and service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #383 of 1,907 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Florence, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have been to this location several times and have always gotten consistently good food and service. We usually get the platter for 2 and choose the brisket as our third meat. The food is hot and we love the choices of BBQ sauce. Staff is friendly and efficient. The only down side this time was a sticky dirty table when we sat down and had to ask for it to be cleaned. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank desertdiva71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson Az
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pricey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Have gone to place twice both times serves slow ,food was over priced for servings. Diffenitely not a place for relaxing very noisey.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miki88Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
209 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Huge portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had the Boneless 'Wings' and for mains, the ribs. I am a big eater, and could probably have just had the starter! BIG portions. But the boneless wings were a disappointment - they are NOT wings! Why not just call them nuggets and be done? I did not enjoy them. I did not want something crumbed. Wings never are, but these are not wings! The sauce - what is it that you can never order something spicy anymore without it being sweet? I had the hotttest type, the Wilbur's revenge, and they were hot alright, but sweet too. No! They were also a bit dry. So, not good. Sugary and crumbed and dry and ... No!

The ribs were real good though. Tender and tasty. Just huge. I took the 12 bone, and could only manage half. May sound small, but it is huge!

I would go back, but I would leave out the 'wings'.

Service was good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GwilymHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good ribs and BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I took my elderly mother to Famous Dave's for dinner. Two of us had the ribs which were excellent, the meat was falling off the bone. My mother had the brisket which was also great. Good sides also, my husband liked the potato salad. The apples were not too sweet but the green beans were very salty. The atmosphere was good and not too loud. We will be going there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DustyBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heflin AL
Level Contributor
207 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband's favorite meal is BBQ and he really likes Famous Dave's. We were not disappointed at this location. The service is quick and friendly. We like the variety of sauces they offer so you are not stuck with one flavor. I ordered unsweet iced tea and it was served with plenty of ice which sometimes does not happen. The portions are huge so we had leftovers for lunch the next day. We always look for Famous Dave's when we are in the west.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yarmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing