We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good BBQ Place”
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #418 of 1,990 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Blacklick, OH
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Good BBQ Place”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We ate here our first night in town. We love BBQ. This place is very good & had a great selection of choices to eat!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ffmedic2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Ribs; but pass on the Famous Dave's Margarita!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The meal started well... the wait was about 5-10 minutes and the server polite. We ordered the Famous Dave's Margarita - mistake! Floating brandy on the margarita just didn't work for us. Even with the poor start and a longer than normal wait for our meal, our dinner made the wait worthwhile.

This is a GREAT place for ribs in Tucson; some of the best i have eaten. We ordered the 1/2 slab and the 1/3 slab. They were meaty and cooked to perfection! These sides will not steer you wrong: Potato Salad (just the right hint of mustard); Wilbur Beans (an ever so slight kick of hot); Creamy Coleslaw (the hint of horseradish makes this dish) and, our favorite, Firecracker Green Beans (FRESH and very mildly spicy). Mmm... finger lick'n good!! We were too full for desert!! I recommend famous dave's for genuine Southern ribs in Tucson!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocool3754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Too Bad Food Used To Be Fairly Good”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Well, I am disappointed as the B-B-Q food at this restaurant used to be fairly good. Now it tastes like it's been sitting under the warming light all day or zapped in the microwave to heat it up. Sorry to see this happen in a city that lacks good B-B-Q restaurants.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

They brought us a basket of chips to sample. Wonderful! We ordered some more. The brisket burgers are great. A nice change from a boring burger. Service was prompt and attentive.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GC343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“New 3-course meal a winner”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Dave’s new three course meals is an economical alternative to their usual fair. The chicken & rice soup is excellent (a meal in itself). I opted for the Georgia Pork and my wife had the ribs. For desert – bread pudding, of course. So, instead of having way too much to eat, we just had a little too much and the price is less than one of their usual entres. On the down side – no leftovers for lunch tomorrow.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Professor-Zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing