We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just be prepared for a weird experience if you order tea!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaffin's Family Restaurant - CLOSED

Chaffin's Family Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
763 reviews
470 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Just be prepared for a weird experience if you order tea!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was an okay choice for a place to grab a cup of coffee with some family during a visit to Tucson... The staff was really friendly and it definitely embodied the concept of a 'family restaurant!' All I ordered was tea, so I can't comment on the food but the tea was a bit of a strange experience. They brought over a cup of hot water, which isn't super effective for steeping tea (you're supposed to pour the water over the tea) and my mom had to ask special for a kettle of more hot water so we could have more than just one cup. It was just very strange.

On the positive side, the people who did order food enjoyed theirs-- the fruit plate was big and the french toast was tasty. Just be prepared for a weird experience if you order tea!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajhorse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    7
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent diner breakfast”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

They do a great job with eggs, waffles, french toast, and biscuits and gravy. My biscuit sandwich with egg, avocado, swiss, and tomato was delicious and light enough I could sample everyone else's choices. Yes it is plain inside like any real diner, no there weren't as many choices as the Hacienda del Sol Sunday brunch we went to the next day. However this was a very good breakfast with friendly, quick service. We will definitely be back the next time we are in town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank frequenteater11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa,ca
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Barely average”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in because there were lots of cars parked. If you are a fan of large portions this might be the place. However, we were disappointed by the poor service. Our food came out a little at a time; first my toast, then about the time that was finished came my eggs and sausage. About ten minutes later, I got my pancakes. There were a lot of potatoes and they were hot, but way too late. My wife's pancakes were rather tasteless. Her eggs and ham were pretty greasy. So the lesson here:? Lots of cars out front don't mean good food or service

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulfill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food is Good, but service depends on the day”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Good diner food. Ive had the breakfast sandwiches most of the time. Service can go either way. Inside could use a remodel, but give it a try the food is worth trying.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
1 review
“Great Food! Great Staff!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is the most comfortable place to eat in Tucson. The staff and owner/cook are very gracious and accommodating. Repeat customers in here will tell you how good the service is and hints on what they like to eat. Having repeat customers who eat here almost everyday tells you something about the place. In this economy if you want to find a great place to eat for your money's worth...this place is it! Love it here! The atmosphere here is great! The food is great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaffin's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing