We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Barrio Viejo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tiradito Shrine

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Heart of Barrio Viejo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I think that many visitors here have no idea what El Tiradito is or means to the people living in this neighborhood. My gradparents lived in this neighborhood, I love the HISTORY that is in each and every house here...and especially the stories of El Tiradito, La Llorrona, and La Muchachita. This is just a small part of the neighborhood that is still standing after the Tucson Community Center was built. But don't just stop at El Tiradito, or drive by as some reviewer said- ...make sure to visit La Pilita, a museum run by two wonderful ladies who take the oral history of many of the older residents. They have wonderful displays during the year-my favorite being 'Dia de los Muertos' or 'Day of the Dead' during October. The students at Carrillo school, right next door make a wonderful, and colorful display every year that is visited by locals as well as people from as far away as Germany and Japan. This is also listed on the Presidio Trail. Take a candle to light and make a wish or a promise, and write it on a piece of paper and poke it into one of the many holes or crevices in the walls. It is said that if you make a wish and your candle stays lit all night, your wish will be granted. I feel sorry for those people who drove by or thought this was going to be a "commemorative" shrine- it might not mean much to those who don't understand, but read up on the history or talk to someone who lives here and you just might understand why El Tiradito is a part of Tucson's heart.

Visited May 2013
1 Thank Ninasanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really annoyed by these other reviews.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place is one of my favorites to take visitors. Some other reviews indicate that these people did not explore this neighborhood AT ALL. Located at the beginning of one of our coolest historic districts (no, no businesses, just old row houses) which is great to walk around. It DOES feel like it's kind of in the middle of nowhere and I think that it's location is part of its charm. It's also romantic- some couples get married here. Yes, it is small. Yes, it is rustic. Come see a real bit of Tucson.

Visited March 2013
3 Thank Melisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaltbommel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
276 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Small monument, location is really awfull”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

When walking the Presidio Trail you'll walk along this shrine. I had read about it at home and wanted to light a candle in remembrance of my grandmothers. I was disappointed when I saw the shrine, its located along a busy road, next to a restaurant. It doesn't have anything of a commemoration feel about it.

Visited May 2013
Thank Dutchkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Group Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

It was an added venture to our group with lunch at a local restaurant. Interesting story, worth stopping by, enjoyed it.

Thank SandyK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the visit.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We thought it was going to be an impressive shrine. It was small, in an alley next to a diner. Wasn't worth getting out of the car. We drove by and took a pic.

Visited March 2012
1 Thank LemieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tiradito Shrine also viewed


Been to El Tiradito Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing