We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a New Year's Eve feast.”

Yoshimatsu Healthy Japanese Eatery
Ranked #352 of 2,005 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Yoshimatsu and bistro SushiMatsu are under one roof. The cancer survivor owner/chef offers original healthy Japanese recipe which uses several kinds of mushrooms, and vegetables with no MSG. She tries to use organic ingredients positively within the budget. Both restaurant serves selected fresh food ingredients. We have many original Vegetarian menu. We are voted as the Best Japanese Restaurant of Tucson by Tucson Weekly 2004,5,6,7&8.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
789 reviews
465 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“We had a New Year's Eve feast.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Eclectic and fun ambiance. Obviously the management is a big collector of Japanese anime toys and unique items because they are displayed all over the restaurant. We enjoyed Japanese beer, bento boxes, sushi, sashami, miso, egg rolls, and more. The restaurant was quiet and the selections on the menu were large. Fun place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    28
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ensenada, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Japanese food for every eating mode”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Yoshimatsu Healthy Japanese Eatery is another one of those restaurants that makes my trips to Tucson interesting, entertaining, and full of expectations. We had a diverse table, both in ethnicity and diet.
Our party of eight was difficult, sitting that many people at this relatively small restaurant took about 15 minutes, but the wait was worth it.
Everybody, the vegan, the sushi eater, and those who avoid the "raw" was pleased by the flavours and the service.
For the firstcomers, like me, plates were explained with great detail of what the plate consisted and what to expect in size.
Most of us required separate cheques, and the waiter went out of his way to prepare each cheqe, he clearly remembered what each of us had ordered.
I ordered a seaweed salad, a bowl of brown rice, and a nigri dinner, the food was plentiful, fresh, and tasty
We all were satisfied with dish size, freshness, and prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lateleapagada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Yohshimatsu was a very pleasant surprise. The restaurant is a bit unique in so much as it has two eateries under one roof. One side of the restaurant is walk-up and order, fast food type of restaurant...the other side is a small (12ish tables) sit down restaurant with full service. We ate at the full service side. We arrived durinig happy hour, which offered half price on beer, sake and appetizers...nice! We ordered some sashimi along with a couple rolls. The food was very fresh and well prepared...delicious. They certainly don't short you on portion size either. Overall I would highly recomment Yoshimatsu if you are in the Tucson area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Comowell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
553 reviews
421 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Life is too Short for Mediocre Sushi”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Mercifully, this sushi excursion was a hit. Happy Hour nibblets and sake, consistently tasty and affordable sushi, and an intimate dining area are plusses. Kazoku on Speedway is still my top spot after trying many sushi joints in the area, although Yoshimatsu does run a close second place. The service at Yoshimatsu is a little clipped/slightly cold, but this could be my own personal reaction coming from the Midwest and preferring service with that more genuine, friendly touch. Oh, and LOVED the fun chopsticks and goodies in the lobby for purchase.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“OK overall: good sushi, poor mains”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Confusing layout of restaurant. Main dining area (where we were) slightly sterile and not atmospheric. Edamame at start slightly overcooked, miso OK. Sushi and sashimi very good, but mains all rather over-spiced (more Korean than Japanese often) and stodgy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yoshimatsu Healthy Japanese Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Yoshimatsu Healthy Japanese Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing