We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bar by which other hotels will be measured”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here in July with my daughter while getting her set-up for going back to UoA. Loved the pool choices of lazy river where I could float around in a rubber ring to another pool more quite. Loved both for different reasons. All staff at hotel were brilliant and not just great service but super friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Location was good for getting back and forward to UoA. Lovely views of the mountains and golf course. My only complaint would be around wi-fi. I believe it really is time that in 2014 this is provided free to everyone. Cheaper hotel chains provide this. It really seams outdated to have a daily charge for this.
Overall a fabulous stay and will not hesitate to return. Stayed at the Westin in Feb but like this location better forgetting to UoA and downtown Tucson.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Christina3708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here in mid-July for a convention and enjoyed it immensely! Extremely clean & comfortable guest rooms, and overall the resort had a very relaxing environment. I personally appreciated the excellent fitness center & up-to-date equipment - cool moist towels were a nice touch, as well as complimentary apples after workout. Witnessed a mama javelina & her baby outside my balcony, as well as some other wildlife. I'd bring my family back in a heartbeat to enjoy the amenities. Nothing like sitting outside on a summer night and watching lightning in the distance from this location, or relaxing by the pool w/a nice cold beverage (poolside servers were top notch, even though it was extremely hot). Conference food was actually pretty good as well, if just a tiny bit spicy for some of my fellow convention-goers (didn't bother me!). My one and only gripe is the charge for wifi in the guest rooms. I have stayed in much lesser hotels that did not - it strikes me as very odd that a place this nice would not include that as a value-added, complimentary amenity.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndilooTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was our second stay at the Starr Pass Marriott. Aour first visit, it was better than we could imagine. The location is far enough for tucson to feel out of the way, but close enought so that it I was not a trek when we wanted to go into tucson, for family visits, shopping or other activities. Our room was beautiful with a view of the desert from our balcony. I unlike other places we have stayed there was plenty of room. The food was fabulous - enough so that on this trip we did not go to Cafe Poca Cosa, a usual required meal when we visit Tucson, as we found the food here to be of similar or better quality.
The facilities are fabulous, three different pools (my favorite is the lazy river), areas through the inside and outside of the hotel where you can sit and read, talk with friends, or just enjoy the view. The gym is well equipped, not only with aerobic equipment, but also with free weights and weight machines. They even provide complimentary earbuds for you to use.
There rare many more things I could mention, guided nature hikes each morning, ice water infused with cucumber in the lobby and at the pools, that all indicate the thought that is given to making sure everyone has a great stay.
Most importantly the staff here truly go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay. Everyone always greets you with a smile, even when just passing in the hallways. Our server at the signature grill, Trisk, along with Kathy and Jessica both hostesses at get signature grill, even remembered us from our stay a year ago and greeted us warmly.
I hope we will have the opportunity to return here many times in the future.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great. You might want to think about whether you want a city view or a des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My family took a "staycation" a few weekends ago at this Starr Pass Resort. It was beyond relaxing and the pool side service was excellent (thanks Holly at plunge)! The gym was great, the built in Starbucks was a pleasant surprise, and the lounging areas were very comfortable and homey. I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Overall our stay was amazing as usual. The staff is always friendly and accommodating. Once we pulled up we were greeted by Mitchell (Valet). And he was be yo friendly. Then Eugene (Bell) was friendly and accommodating when he brought our luggage to the room. He even went out of his way to get us ice for our room. Last but not least I would like to mention Nayanna (front desk) as we were checking out she was very understanding of an issue o was not happy about. We stayed in one of the parlor suites and the refrigerator was broken. I called to the front desk and all I got was the run around and they were not able to help correct the issue until the next day. Nayanna was beyond understanding.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Roman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The JW at Starr Pass combines my favorite things in one place. It has a terrific location which borders the desert park and yet is 10 minutes from the Univ of Arizona campus. There are tons of hiking trails where you will see desert wildlife including lizards, deer, javelina, and birds. They have a really awesome patio that looks over the city and every evening they host a free tequila tasting while they tell the famous legend of Pancho Villa. After the toast, you can roast marshmallows at one of the open fire pits. And, you cannot forget to visit their award-winning BBQ restaurant at the Golf Course. There is a shuttle that will take you from the hotel. It's delicious and we've been there dozens of times. To me, this hotel is Tucson.

Room Tip: Have stayed in all sides. There are city and desert views. Just depends on your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dinka03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The resort was perfect for a family get away, the staff is amazing! The pool side service was the best part, holly truly did care about out comfort and made sure we were having a great time, she was very personable!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlyn_nh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
12.8 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
818 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
736 reviews
14 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
10.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
13 mi away
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Family Hotel in Tucson
#6 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $266 - $664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson, Arizona merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing