We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Still love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Still love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We come here at least once per year and still love it. Its a truly beautiful resort in a stunning location and easily one of my favorites.

We've occasionally had a minor things amiss here and there -- but the resort is well managed from top to bottom so they were remedied appropriately and immediately. I do agree with the other reviewers that the restaurant is not being run as well as it should and certainly, not as well as it was during our visits the past few years. Hopefully they can rectify this.

I miss hearing the band playing out by the pool already, so relaxing and festive. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyofjoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing about your most recent experience and your continued patronage to the resort. It was a pleasure to read that you continue to enjoy the amenities of the resort. I was wondering if you could assist me with some additional details about your restaurant experiences. It would be very helpful, if you can send me your recommendations to chad.lybrook@marriott.com. We genuinely value your perspective and look forward the opportunity to surpass your expectations.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    427
    147
    59
    34
See reviews for
465
442
51
576
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon Rockville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband created a day spa experience for both of us; it was complete with massages, a detox wrap for me and a facial for himself. The DIHA massage therapists were experienced professionals. We enjoyed the massages, and the wrap was relaxing and therapeutic. My husband said he liked the facial and enjoyed the gentle exfoliation. The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful; you can tell the staff try very hard to make your visit as wonderful as possible. If you like experiencing different spas, try this one and see what you think.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryle k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had torn curtains, spots on the carpet and the vent in the bath room was so dirty Air was not coming out. They provided us with breakfast and it was outstanding along with the service. For the price of the room We will not staying there ever again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wfisher9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Location of the resort was just at the base of the mountians in star pass. Hotel staff was very friendly and attentive. Room had separate shower and tub with large vanity. The 3 pools were exceptional even a lazy river for floating. One of the best areas is the large patio for evening drinks and eats. A big plus is the natural areas all thru the resort. One night a family of 5 deer just walked out of the brush right up to the pool. Also can see lots of wildlife on the golf course. The view of the city lights at night is very calming. Overall this hotel gets high marks and staying in the off season the room price can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandi928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

It was with great pleasure to read about your quiet and relaxing experience. How lovely it was to read about your encounter with nature, as I have always enjoyed seeing how the wildlife takes a journey through our backyard. Thank you for highlighting our property and for recommending the resort to the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back to another refreshing experience.

Sincerely,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times in the last 7 or 8 years, all for vacation. On each occasion we were impressed both by the helpful and pleasant staff, stunning views of the city and selection of restaurants, pool spa and other amenities.
Before returning, we noticed a few negative reports on the condition of the hotel. Not only do these reports appear exaggerated, but we understand room renovation will start next month. The room certainly did not detract from our stay.
Must compliment the front desk and restaurant people for going above and beyond in making our stay very enjoyable. Will stay here again if our travels take us to Tucson

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZTraveller03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time out of your day to detail the fabulous amenities of the resort. It sounds like the perfect getaway while you were our guest! We appreciate your loyalty and continued patronage, anytime you want to escape the Phoenix area, Starr Pass will welcome your return!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here from May 22 -25 for a conference I had to attend. This place sits right in the middle of mountains. We were amazed to see that cactus grow like trees on the mountains. Made for great pictures!

The lobby is absolutely beautiful and HUGE!! The customer service we received the entire time was top notch. We only had bad service once at the main bar (tequila toast), but I think the waitress was just new. The conference facility was very nice and was able to accommodate the multitude of women that attended the conference. It was also well removed from the main part of the resort. There were flavored water station's set up throughout the resort, so you'll never be thirsty. The lazy river was fun but the tube's gave us a rashes. I didn't like that at all. It took 2 weeks for it to go away.

Our room was very romantic. It over looked the main entrance that faced the mountains. We were able to sit on our balcony and watch the sunset. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom kinda reminded me of a Vegas hotel bathroom, Top Notch!!

The star of this resort is the signature restaurant and patio bar. In the late afternoon into the evening the bar opens up and they pull back the glass doors to bring the outside in. This allows for the bar that's in the building to feel like it expands out onto the massive patio they have. The patio furniture is soft, the fire pits are romantic, and the drinks are stellar!! We so enjoyed our free shot of tequila nightly :)

The food was good at the resort but it is pricey so be ready to spend some serious cash at this place! Although I was mainly there for work, having my boyfriend with me, allowed me to see how romantic this hotel is. Watching the stars, drinking a specialty margarita, in the moon light with the fire pit crackling and soft music playing is priceless!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasea75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is actually my second stay at the Starr Pass. I am lucky enough to attend business functions that are held here about once a year. The rooms are as nice as most JW Marriotts, but who wants to spend time in a room? The resort has a huge patio, nice pool, and on-site golf course. I have not played the course, but it looks immaculate, rolling, and few if any trees. I am in meetings all day, but as the sun goes down, so does the temperature. The patio furniture is very comfortable and you can eat a variety of foods from the less expensive Signature Grill, or more traditional resaurant, the "Primo" (best grilled chicken Ceaser I have ever had). I took a few pictures, but none of them do the property justice. The ambiance on the patio over looking the lights of Tuscon at night is incredibly relaxing. The property is pretty remote, so I would estimate a 20 minute drive to get into Tucson. I stopped at a small store on my way to the property to pick up water, Gatorade, and a few snacks. I prefer scuba diving locations, but this is wonderful desert resort.

Room Tip: The rooms are contained in 6 separate buildings (I think). the resort is surrounded by desert so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWHansard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to highlight to commend the resort. It was with great delight to read that you posted a review of the resort and of our Primo restaurant. Thank you for sharing about your experience and we hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
12.7 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
6.3 mi away
Casino Del Sol Resort
Casino Del Sol Resort
#8 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
13.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.1 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing