We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful setting with an outstanding staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting with an outstanding staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Outstanding property, with an amazing view of Tucson and the surrounding desert mountain setting. Room was very nicely appointed, we had a beautiful view of the golf course, and comfortable. Temperature allowed us to enjoy the evening on the patio and see the lights of the city come on as the sun set - just perfect. Don't miss your complimentary tequila shot every evening - OLE! I even had some private time with a coyote, at the driving range, early one morning.
Great staff, from the hotel to the golf course. Service oriented, and very friendly with a quick smile - enjoy!

Room Tip: South side has the views of the resort and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GunnerAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    449
    155
    61
    35
See reviews for
487
460
53
619
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

No better way to start the evening festivities; free Tequilla Toast each night in the open courtyard. Afterward, enjoy a beverage of your choosing and relax under the stars.
This is a sprawling resort, which is never overcrowded, even when a convention is in attendance.
Pros: swimming pools, lazy river, tasty dining options, comfy rooms
Cons: long walk from garage to hotel area, lazy river can be a little obnixious with loud families, non-resort dining is a few minute drive away

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Priffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity
Level Contributor
248 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I recently attended a conference at this hotel and it is a great property. I do not understand the reviews stating the rooms are tired and old. My room was excellent and the furnishings were in great shape. The hallway carpeting is in need of cleaning, but the room was good. Extremely helpful and friendly staff.
A special recognition to the Audio/video team particularly Anthony. He assisted with every need and was always smiling. I would stay here again for business or leisure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience, as it is always nice to receive feedback from a seasoned traveler. It was a joy to share your comments with our associates, and especially to notify Anthony of your kind words. Mr. Anthony defiantly embodies the spirit of the JW Marriott and Starr Pass and I am glad the he was able to take care of your needs. We look forward to your return and thank you for reviewing the JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
440 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

hotel was in need of maintenance & updating. Well used furniture and old paint. The hot banquet buffet food was cold and fair. Other Marriott resorts I find to be much better. The resort is very secluded. Nice pools.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We took 14 guys to Starr Pass for a 5 day golf trip from May 1 to May 5 and had a blast. The resort is beutiful, the staff freindly and helpful, rooms large and comfortable and finally the 3 nines were a pleasure to play.

This was our 6th annual trip and we have always gone to different places each year, but for the first time, everyone in the group voted to come back to Starr Pass next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWRSanAnselmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your response on your past stay, I am ecstatic to hear that you loved your experience. It is an honor to read that your annual trip will include a comeback tour next year. Please let us know if we may be of assistance in making any arrangements for you and your friends. We look forward to your return and thank you for the exciting 5-Star review.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently had a 2 night stay at the JW Marriott in Tucson and was really impressed by the beauty and very nice appointments throughout the hotel. The room was large and spacious - and the bedding was excellent as I expected.
The disappointment for me was in ordering room service. I tried to call twice to place and order and held for an average of 5 minutes calling in twice in a row. It has an automated response that initially picks up. I would prefer the experience of a live person answering the call to let me know that there are other orders being taken, rather than an automated system that directs me to hold.
I expect more of a personal touch from a JW Marriott level of stay.
I would recommend the hotel overall. I just wouldn't wait until your actually hungry to place your in room service for dining. The food that came ultimately was okay. Nothing to write home about.
The other thing that I would note is that the entry/exit is not automated doors. So if you have multiple pieces of luggage and no one is at the door to help you - your on your own for manipulating the door and your multiple pieces (probably more a concern for a woman than a man).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myparlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experiences at the resort. We sincerely appreciate your four-star rating and I would like to inform you that we will take measures to address your shortcomings. Furthermore, on your return visit you will receive the personalized luxury service you have come to expect from the JW Marriott brand of hotels and resorts. Upon reading your review, I notified our In-Room Dining Manager about your experience and they will review the staffing levels to ensure that experience is not a constant. Secondly, I informed the Front Office Manager of your concerns about the entrance doors and we will also review the staffing and share your experience with the Guest Experience Attendants. I truly apologize that you did not experience a flawless experience and we are fortunate to have your viewpoint to correct these inadequacies. If there is anything else that I may be of assistance with, please feel free to contact me directly at chad.lybrook@marriott.com

Sincerely,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is an oasis out in the desert! It is beautiful! The staff was very friendly and helpful. They do a tequila happy hour toast to showcase the 100+ tequilas they have. There is a spa, a lap pool, play pools, waterslides and a lazy river. The rooms were very nice. Everything was clean and fresh. Our package gave us free breakfast each morning. All the food was good, however I highly recommend the tamale breakfast! The resort's not that far from town so you can easily drive in for shopping, dining,etc. Make sure you make it down to the early morning Native American ceremony - a very calming way to start the day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JP627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback on your past stay, I am elated to hear that you experienced a “Wonderful Escape”. If you enjoyed the Mitakuye Oyasin morning ritual, you might also enjoy the morning hike that precedes the ritual. It is a great introduction to the flora and fauna of the Sonoran Desert. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Tucson.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
12.7 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
6.3 mi away
Casino Del Sol Resort
Casino Del Sol Resort
#10 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
10.1 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing