We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Outstanding Business Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 NIGHTLY RESORT CREDIT
Ranked #9 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding Business Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three days at a conference. This is a splendid property, with all accustomed Marriott amenities. The pools and grounds are immaculate, the golf course exceptional (according to my golfer friends). The large deck with fire pits and bar with giant doors are strikingly integrated.

Singular views of the sunrise are part of the hotel culture, with Indian ceremonials in celebration in the AM. Evenings are also celebrated with Mexican traditions of tequila. Outside, are wonderful hiking opportunities in the desert park behind.

The staff is outstanding, of all Marriott properties in my experience, the best. The food at events can often be forgettable, not here.

Highly recommended, exceeded expectations.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Specmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

The associates at the JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa understand that attention to detail is extremely important, and it is with great pleasure to read that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to surpass your expectations on your leisure visit. Thank you for sharing your experience. Thanks again and we look forward to your return!

Regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    412
    142
    57
    34
See reviews for
448
428
50
559
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It is hard to write a lot about a resort that is perfect - so best to be brief, perhaps. Marriott Star Pass (MSP) delivers on all it promises, and more. Three big pools plus a wading or splash pool for kids. Great restaurants and an ideal spa. Wonderful service, too, and there is a great hiking trail through the canyon full of the Suguaro cactus. MSP is perched high on the ridge looking down on Tucson. The bar patio is huge with fire pits and live music - a latin guitar player. Oh, and there is a complimentary tequila toast every afternoon to kick off happy hour. All this is a bit pricey - the spa in particular, but worth it overall. I cannot say enough good about MSP...check it out.

Room Tip: Get a king room overlooking the pools and patio area, 7th or 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank le_meridional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We are glad that you had a relaxing and enjoyable experience at the JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa or “MSP”. Thank you for the thorough review of your experience, it is always nice to get the perspective a TripAdvisor “Senior Contributor”. We sincerely appreciate your encouraging words and thank you for taking the time to share about your “PERFECT” stay. We hope to see you back for many more enjoyable experiences.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I often find it difficult to stay somewhere of really high quality in Tucson. This is the exception to that rule. This property is incredible. Beautiful golf. Beautiful pool. Beautiful sunset. Beautiful lobby. The service was fantastic. If needed something they had it. If I wanted a recommendation or directions they were quick to give me advice.

The Starpass hiking trails around the desert property are breath taking. I think my favorite part was reaching what is left of a desert home and finding a type-out of what the property was and who lived there - Take the Bowen Trailhead to the Bowen Homestead. Just a really great detail. I don't know if the hotel had much to do with that....but I will give them the credit.

We were there during a huge Bobcat Company convention and we still had a lot of individual attention. We loved the tequila ceremony in the evening. It was lovely sharing a drink/toast with people we had just met.

Our room itself was update, large, decorated beautifully. The bathroom was huge. We also had a balcony that overlooked the pool/golf course. It is quite fun to watch the roadrunners on the golf course interfere with a ball gone astray.

Loved it. Loved the service. Will stay again and again and again.

At Star Pass you are close to Gate's Pass and Old Tucson Studios. Definitely go see the sun set at Gate's Pass...Old Tucson...meh....I would rather fall into a bed of cacti.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. Obviously it isn't a very tall building but the views still get better wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mra31mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time out of your day to detail the fabulous amenities of the resort. It was with great pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable and arguably amazing experience. It sounds like the perfect getaway while you were our guest! Anytime you want to escape the Windy City area, Starr Pass will welcome your return! Thank you for sharing your experience. Thanks again and we look forward to your return!

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The JW Starr pass is set back in the beautiful Arizona mountains in a very tranquil setting. The resort interior has a Frank Lloyd Wright influence. The first room we were shown was in a horrible location, at the end of a long hall, overlooking the valet parking lot (even the bellhop admitted it was not great). After calling the front desk we waited a few hours until another room was available(we are Marriott reward members), The second room was much nicer, with a very large bathroom and sitting area. The resort was packed because it was UA family weekend and it was impossible to get a seat by the fire pits in the evenings. Food /beverage service was also backed up , but it was to be expected. The opposing football team was staying at the resort (my 11yr old son loved that!) but it was very crowded in all the public areas. The breakfast buffet was very good and there's also a full service Starbucks for those that prefer something quick. The pool area was very nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njbchluvr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for choosing to spend time with your family at the resort.. I appreciate your thoughts on the University of Arizona Family Weekend, and appreciate your viewpoint. I am overwhelmed with enjoyment that your family was able to have an enjoyable experience. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray beach, fl
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spent 4 nights with many others in our group over a long weekend. The property was pristine and everyone was nice. We ate at all the restaurants on property and had a wonderful private party at Primo. The drinks at Salud were great, but beware if you ask for spicy you'll get it! The Sunset ceremony every night was worth staying for, they tell a story and you all salud to a pineapple infused tequila. Don't miss happy hour at salud where you can try some of their creations at half/price. Our rooms were nice, we faced the waterslide and a beautiful view of the mountains- we slept with the sliding glass door open and could hear nature sounds in the early morning. The nature hike at 6:30am (with Koi) was worth waking up for- you learn about the area and it's beautiful. The sunrise ceremony at 7:30am is also something to experience, Larry Redhouse should be like your cup of coffee, a great way to start the day, giving thanks for All My Relations- we are all connected. The morning breakfast buffet at Signature grill (Willy was a great server) was very good, worth the $24 b/c you get lots of fruits and extras plus something off the menu, they say it's a smaller portion but it's plenty to fill you up and get you through to dinner. The front desk management is great , Victor Pineda and Kari Stoesser staff was helpful. Only downfall, we didn't get into our room til 4pm even though we arrived much earlier and had given that information prior to arrival, the hotel didn't seem overly busy. I'm a Marriott credit card holder and rewards member so sometimes you expect a little more.
I also had the pleasure working with Lori Scheffing (and Crystal) on our restaurant arrangements- everything was smooth sailing. We enjoyed a wonderful cake one evening that even made the flight home it was so tasty! It was the the Milk Chocolate Almond Nougat Torte - WOW!! one evening we also had the Canolli Siciliana with amarena cherries- truly delish- great to share with table. It was a great trip, we celebrated a 40th birthday with 15 people - it was memorable. The lazy river was a great place to hang out and occupied our time most days. Thanks Starr Pass! Although I never spoke with the General Manager, Alex Ahluwalia, he seemed to be a very approachable man and was available on property.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed staying on the side with waterslide view, the front has a great view, but you do h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time out of your day to detail the fabulous amenities of the resort. It sounds like the perfect getaway while you were our guest! Thank you for highlighting the efforts of our associates and the results. It was pleasing to read how you enjoyed the different amenities offered and truly took advantage during your stay. I will be sure to pass you kind words along. Thank you for sharing about your experience and we hope to see you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was the 4th time I stayed at this hotel, and again I was reminded of why I love this resort. I love the views of the mountains and the city from the hotel. There are so many quiet places with good views around the resort, both inside and outside. And the service has always been very good. That was true again during this stay. The staff went out of their way to be friendly, anticipate your needs, and be helpful. The fire pits and the heaters are such a nice touch during the cool spring evenings. They are also pretty at night. since I am afraid of some of the desert creatures, I like the fact that this resort is all connected; There aren't separate units spread apart that you have to walk to at night.

Room Tip: It is wonderful to have a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy4036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

WOW, thank you for taking time out of your day to highlight your stay. We appreciate your encouraging comments about our service and I will share them with our associates. I was especially delighted to hear that your needs were anticipated, as to me that is luxury. We sincerely appreciate that you have stayed with us multiple times and we look forward to hosting your 5th visit.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel fits very nicely with the nature of Tucson around it, they made everything look very natural and desert-like. Beautiful hotel and pool area, golf course looked pretty awesome too (I dont golf though) Great time to visit is in the Spring, it is not too hot yet and it is still calm before the summer crowd arrives. Brunch at the Grill was great, with a pretty view on the patio as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jb2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We are glad that you experienced a relaxing and enjoyable experience at the JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa. Thank you for the review of your experience, it is always nice to get the perspective a TripAdvisor “Top Contributor”. We sincerely appreciate your encouraging words and thank you for taking the time to share about your stay. We hope to see you back for many more enjoyable experiences.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
6.3 mi away
Casino Del Sol Resort
Casino Del Sol Resort
#10 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 687 reviews
12.7 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
13.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.1 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing