We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Over the top” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Over the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our first visit to the JW Marriott Starr Pass - but not our first visit to Tucson - exceeded all our expectations. The property is magnificent, set in the foothills with breathtaking views of the golf course, mountains with thousands of sagueros, and the lights of Tucson below. The staff were the best! The food in the restaurants was comparable to fine dining we've experienced in San Fran, NYC, and others. We enjoyed hiking in the adjacent desert, working out in the fitness center, and biking in the area. We don't play golf, but the course looks amazing.

We visited in January ... the weather was perfect ... high of 70 and low of 40 (great for sitting around the fire pits and sipping wine in the evening).

This resort is very similar to the JW Marriott in San Antonio that we also enjoy. Marriott continues to impress us with expert management of their beautiful properties.

Room Tip: Ask (demand) a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

WOW!!! I love the title of your review! Thank you for taking time out of your day to highlight your experience. We appreciate your encouraging comments about our service and dining experiences. Personalizing your experience is our goal and I am glad that you were able to share your experience. We look forward to delivering another amazing experience!

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    413
    144
    58
    34
See reviews for
449
431
50
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Excellent service. I love the Starbucks and bar/lounge/terrace area. My first watermelon tequila. We did the morning hike - so very nice and worth the early wake up. We also did the Native American spiritual ceremony - also very nice and it provided a very special moment on the trip. We'll definitely be back. One issue with several room items that were inoperable - the charging station/plugs and the room safe. I reported both issues several times and neither were corrected. The rooms were very clean.

Room Tip: Building 5 with a room facing east would have a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merlechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback on your past stay, we appreciate your cheering comments about the different amenities of the resort. Furthermore, I sincerely apologize that your experience was nothing short of perfect. The associates at the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa understand that attention to detail is extremely important, and I apologize that your experience did not meet our normal standards of excellence. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to surpass your expectations.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a great weekend stay at this resort.

The hotel is in a very quiet and scenic location. There's great hiking right outside the resort as well as some very nice amenities on the property. The hotel grounds and rooms were immaculate.

While we had some issues with room service and the delivery of newspapers and water, our issues were immediately attended to and the staff was always courteous and well trained in their handling of the matters.

The hotel rooms seemed very quiet and we never hears lots of hall noise or plumbing.

A quality property.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellogger411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback on your past stay, we appreciate your cheering comments about the different amenities of the resort. Furthermore, I sincerely apologize that your experience was nothing short of perfect. The associates at the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa understand that attention to detail is extremely important, and I apologize that your experience did not meet our normal standards of excellence. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to surpass your expectations.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at JW Marriott Star Pass Resort & Spa and attended the Jazz Concert on New Years Eve & we really enjoyed our room! It had the cleanest bath tub that I've ever seen! The room was bright & cheery, the bathroom was large & spotless, it was such a beautiful room that we didn't want to leave. We requested late check out & had the front desk watch our bag so we could eat in the hotel restaurant. We sat outside to enjoy the beautiful view. Our brunch was Yummy. It was the perfect ending to our little mini vacation. We will be back!

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool & mountains, it was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanDiegoNative60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just returned from a New Years trip to Starr Pass. Although we had been there two or three times before we have never experienced the superb level of service we received on this visit. From the staff at the check-in to the parking valet the service and willingness to help was way over the top.
Request a room on the golf course side....fantastic views.
Although the golf course is a "resort" course it will eat you up if you play the wrong set of tees. Get very far off the fairway and you'll need another ball. Back two sets of tees have some very long forced carries just to reach the fairway.
BBQ restaurant at the golf course was fantastic for lunch or a casual dinner.
The basic rooms are nice but the 1 bedroom suites are outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors facing the golf course. (Bldg 3).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkdgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
272 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is my second business trip to this property -- absolutely amazing. The rooms are very comfortable, amazing views, great desert walks right outside the front door. Dining can be expensive, especially at Primo, but very nice experience. Great to have a Starbucks on site. Only potential downside for some might be the need for a car, especially for business travelers who may take a cab or a shuttle to the resort from the airport.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad view at all; but a balcony will be a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I spent 7 days here over Xmas and were very happy with our accomodations.

The only issue we ran into was that the plumbing in our room 6586 is not vented properly.

When guests in adjoining rooms use their showers or bath tubs, the suction from their drains created loud noises in your bathroom sink. Actually loud enough to wake you up. This is our only complaint about the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DChapin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
6.3 mi away
Casino Del Sol Resort
Casino Del Sol Resort
#9 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
12.7 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
13.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.1 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing