We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed on a business trip and brought my wife for R&R. What a very nice place. Great accomodations and staff. Try the Prickly Pear Margarettas......best I've ever had! The golf course and grounds are beautiful. The patio area is a real nice place to sit and enjoy the desert scenery with a cool beverage. Not a long drive into town for festivities.

Room Tip: All of them are GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing about your experience. I am glad that you had the opportunity to bring your wife to our resort. It really sounds like you were able to relax and enjoy the amenities. I sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,588 - 1,594 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent Location, beautiful Outside Patio with incredible views of the Desert Landscape. Catch a drink there, and especially at sundown. Great for get "together's", clean and spacious rooms. Staff is excellent, and the lazy river pool is fantastic for the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

We sincerely value your personalized perspective on your recent experience. Thank you for taking the time to highlight a couple of the features of our resort. The complimentary tequila toast, called Arriba! Abajo! is held nightly at 5:30pm in Salud! and is a favorite among guests. We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The JW Marriott in Tucson is a lovely hotel in the middle of the desert. It's a beautiful resort, the rooms are spacious, comfortable beds and large bathrooms with a separate bath and shower. The gym over looks the beautiful mountain side and golf courses. If you can take a yoga class at sunset it's not only relaxing but a lovely sight. There's a wonderful bar and patio with outdoor fireplaces fun for gathering and enjoying a drink with friends and colleagues.

If you like to golf the property has three 9 hole courses which are well kept and challenging. Lots of blind spots and the carts don't have GPS for the hole. You will want to stock up on beverages as they aren't great about coming around with the drink cart. All in all the course is nice and worth playing.

It's a great place for a conference as the ballrooms are large and the facility can easily accommodate a large group. Because it's far off from the town it keeps the group together in the hotel. The one challenge is that it's hard to get a direct flight to Tucson so coming from the East coast it's a full day of travel on either end.

Room Tip: Join Marriott Rewards which can entitle you to upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcoopersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your response on your past stay, I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience and that you mentioned some of the great features of the resort. I have noted your concern about the beverage service during golfing and will communicate that to our Golf Leadership. Thank you for noting our beautiful 27-hole Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Facility, as it is a world-class destination. We look forward to your return and thank you for reviewing the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed at many hotels and many of them of the Marriot family. This Marriot Hotel amazed me with some unusual features. First, the outside seating area is large and inviting, it can be used even on cool nights because of the heaters and fireplaces available. It iseems to be particularly designed for groups of people. We were there with 2 other family members and 4 from Tucscon joined us in the evenings. Plenty of space for all to gather and mingle. Very cozy. I've never seen anything like it. There were several groups, they all seemd to be enjoying themselves. Second, the views! Of the city lights at night, pool and golfcourse in the day. Just beautiful. The hotel appears to be part of the surrounding hills. Even the wash/gulley/ravine under a small foot bridge from one building to another was kept intact and not bullt over in order to maintain the integrity of the environment. The food was expensive but it was excellent so, the trade off was worth it. We ended up eating one breakfast, one lunch, one dinner, and bar snacks so had a good sampling of how the food was prepared. The service was attentive in each dining location. Overall, quite a relaxing stay. We will go back to this location when in Tucscon visiting family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindylouVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank You for taking time out of your day to rate your stay, we appreciate your encouraging feedback and I will share them with our associates. You have highlighted one of the most popular experiences at the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, the Fire Pit experience on the Salud!. Thanks again for providing your feedback; we truly appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Tucson.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

While the rooms themselves are decidely average and in need of a thorough remodeling, everything else about this resort sparkles. The staff is very well trained and very polite & quick to serve however you may ask. The location is spectacular, as is the golf course. Food in all the restaurants is excellent as well. There are lots of activities, including golf, tennis, swimming (several pools & a "lazy river" for the kids, with most pools heated in the winter), hiking, biking & a wonderful back deck/bar with lots of fireplaces, fire pits, heaters, etc. to make an evening looking back at Tucson sublime.

This would make a good romantic getaway, or a good family trip.

There is a large conference center & this is also a good place for a conference.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank You for taking time out of your day to share about your experience. We sincerely appreciate your insight on your experience, and in 2013 our rooms will be going through a refresh, I hope that you can come back and experience the refresher. Thank you for sharing about your experience and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Tucson.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel and property are top notch. It is beautifully set up against the Starr Pass hills at the end of the road. The property is immaculate, the staff very helpful and accomodating, and the atmosphere is great. The secluded location takes you away from the noise of the city and provides for a very relaxing stay in an elegant setting.

It is also very convenient to many Tucson attractions such as the Desert Museum, Old Tucson Studios, and Gates Pass.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrosencpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

WOW! Thank you for the five-star rating and for sharing about your recent JW Starr Pass visit, we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience. We sincerely appreciate that you highlighted the local attractions, my favorite being the Sonoran Dessert Museum. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to make an eternal impression on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for my 50th birthday. I booked one of the king executive suites. When we checked in I asked Todd for the best suite he had since it was my birthday. He gave us the suite on the 6th floor with spectacular views of the pool & golf course. We even had our own large patio. We ate in both restaurants and played golf which was spectacular also. The service from every area of the hotel was outstanding. There are several fire pits in the patio area which were inviting and you get a great view overlooking Tucson. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank argentinevisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Congratulations and thank you for celebrating your 50th Birthday with us! I am pleased to hear that you had a memorable personalized experience. Thank you for highlighting the many amenities that are offered at the resort. Thank you for sharing your experiences and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 51st Birthday!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.3 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 129 in Tucson
909 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
708 reviews
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
13.0 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $256 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson, Arizona merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing