We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starr Pass provides excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Tucked off the Interstate and other highways, Starr Pass offers the views and ambience that the desert provides. The staff is very professional ... and everyone makes eye contact with you upon the initial greeting. The rooms are a nice size and nice appointed. The bed is very firm, yet provide a very comfortable night's sleep. The pool area is extremely well cared for. We had breakfast the following morning ... great spread on the buffet. The real value is delivered by the Marriott people. That staff is well trained to respond to guests. The entire experience was top quality, and totally enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubbaAZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

We sincerely value your insight on your recent visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our strongest asset, our associates. The associates take pride in the level of service that is provided and we thank you for recognizing their efforts. Thank you for sharing about your experience and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Tucson.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,651 - 1,657 of 2,209 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

November 2012, we are still here, enjoying a beautiful cabana by one of the great pools! Next stop, the lazy river with provided inner tubes on which to travel about. The service is so kind, friendly, and accommodating! I don't see why some reviews state rooms are in need of re makes. Ours is quite large with wonderful comforters and comfy pillows! This is a most peaceful resort, not too big and fancy, that a person is uncomfortable. The desert is so peaceful, we feel like we have truly escaped. The spa is equally amazing, I have experienced a wonderful massage and facial. I just love the entire experience. We are vacation club owners, and have stayed at most Marriotts in America. This is a true vacation destination, we will definitely return more than once!,

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a view upgrade, or a room with an outdoor balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisapea17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for honoring us with your first Trip Advisor review, we sincerely value your detailed perspective on your visit with us. We sincerely appreciate your tantalizing words and we are glad that you have been able to escape to a relaxing state. We look forward to surpassing your expectations on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one great hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The pool area is well taken care of and the lazy river is great for kids. The bar area was the best. You sir near the fidelity that overlooks the desert and Tucson lights. The tequelia shots at 5:30 wasn't bad either. If you fab afford the JW go, it oz worth every dime.

Room Tip: Get obeGet one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyhutch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank You for taking time out of your day to to share about your experience. We appreciate your glowing words of encouragement and I have to agree, the Fire Pit experience on the Salud! Patio is the place to be in the evenings. Thank you for sharing about your experience and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Tucson.

Warm regards,
Chad Lybrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is hard to image a more enjoyable property at which to stay. Rooms are nice enough and quiet. The shower head can accommodate a six-foot tall person (although the toilet is made for someone under 5'6") and has plenty of water pressure. Beds are comfortable. I found the value to be better here than cheaper properties. I.E. We stayed at a Springhill Suites the next night and got no sleep due to noise and had a terrible experience. The extra $100 to stay here is worth it.

The Signature Grill is OK. We only ate breakfast there. I preferred the eggs/tamales off the menu over the buffet. Pretty pricey for breakfast. Not really worth the cost.

The best part of our stay was the evening on the patio. Food at Salud is very good. The free tequila toasts in the evening was a nice touch. Also, the guitar players were great and the music was not too loud as to affect our conversation or enjoyment. Crystal at Salud was great and her service is second-to-none!

A bonus was the trail across the street. Great saguaro's plus deer and javalina's.

We liked the property so much we stayed there on our return trip and are now planning to return as our destination.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phun-seekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

WOW! Thank you for personally recognizing our associate’s hospitality, we will make sure that Crystal is recognized for the personalized service she gave. I really enjoyed reading about your experience and was thrilled hear that your returned and are planning on coming back. Please let me know if there is anything that we can arrange before you arrive. THANK YOU for taking your time to share about your experience.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is located outside of downtown Tucson, up on a ridge. Great views and nice property. Standard rooms show some wear and tear but the suites are fantastic (stayed in both). Very nice pools and the outdoor patio can't be beat.

Plenty to do: golf, hike, swim, spa, relax. Organized activities as well: tequila shots (really!), a morning Native ritual, hiking.

Highly recommended if you can get a room at a decent price.

Room Tip: Anything with a desert view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p3mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank You for taking time out of your day to share about your experience. We sincerely appreciate your insight on your experience. In 2013 our rooms will be going through a refresh, I hope that you can come back and experience the refresher. Thank you for sharing about your experience and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Tucson.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have stayed at this resort 3 times now with the most recent stay in October 2012. Whilst the resort is in a great location for peace and tranquility the standards are starting to slide further from my last stay and its becoming a poor standard of a JW Marriott resort. The rooms are now in need of refurbishment, they are quite dull and dated compared to other offerings in the area. We found the bed extremely uncomfortable and pillows totally unsatisfactory, whilst they promote a pillow top mattress you actually get a pillow top mattress protector and not a full mattress which you find in most Marriott hotels (and most others) as standard. We had this protector changed during our stay and there was some improvement so may be some rooms are better than others but still not what I expect from this quality of accommodation. The lobby still looks pretty good, but the patio area furnishings need replacing and other public areas need some attention such as carpet cleaning and replacement. The one great experience at this resort is the Primo restaurant, fabulous food and service, a real delight.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback on your past stay, I sincerely apologize that your experience fell short of your expectations. The associates at the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa understand that attention to detail is extremely important, and I apologize that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to surpass your expectations.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My sons go to U of Arizona and I travel to see them in Tucson and have stayed in a wide variety of properties in the area. Two stand out, the Arizona Inn and Marriott's Starr Pass Resort and Spa. The location is close enough to the University but is situated in the foothills among the beautiful Cactus and dessert landscape. The pool and spa areas are lovely and the food is good.I had an excellent message there. The rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable although you might want to bring your own pillow as theirs are very hard. I would recommend this hotel for those wanting a resort experience in Tucson.We also left behind an Iphone 5 and the security detail was really on top of it and responsive in assisting us in locating it. Overall the service is excellent.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms overlooking the pool and city. You are actually looking out at the landscape whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing about your past experience with us. We sincerely appreciate that you were able to take time out of your day to highlight some of the fabulous features of the resort. I am glad that we were able to locate you iPhone 5. Thank you for sharing about your experience and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Tucson.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
12.8 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
819 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#5 of 129 in Tucson
743 reviews
14 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
10.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
13 mi away
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#6 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $284 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson, Arizona merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing