We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calming and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
raleigh, nc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Calming and Beautiful”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Located out of the city center in a quiet desert neighborhood. The owners are gracious and interesting to talk with. The house is very comfortable. Breakfast is devine

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnaraleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
379
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maine
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2011

This is a fabulous b & b run by two terrific people. The setting is beautiful, the snacks unbeatable but watch your waistline, and the breakfasts gourmet to the nth degree.
Dennis and Christine are fabulous hosts pulling out no stops to make your visit unforgettable and agreeable to almost any request. They are extremely knowledgeable about the local and not so local environs being able to recommend hikes, shopping, etc and my only hesitancy about recommending it without reservation is that it may make it more difficult for us to get reservations in the future

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainemoose9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

During our recent visit, other guests asked why we have return year after year - five years in a row now - to the Azure Gate? We stumbled across this B&B on our way to the airport and booked for the following year. Before the end of that first trip, we knew we would come back. Our busy lives (elderly parents and now grandchildren) truly has us squeezed and The Azure Gate is a perfect spot for us to get away. The breakfast are elegant (see photos), the location is great - near Mt. Lemmon; the atmosphere is restful so my wife and I sit on the grounds or near the pool and recharge each day. I enjoy cycling and have found many safe places to ride. The Azure Gate is also near Saguaro Park East - so we take short hikes, sit in folding chairs and let the desert do its work on our hearts. Then add hosts Christine and Dennis, what a wonderful recipe! Need I say more?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelredding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Azure Gate for a week of hiking by day, sunny and glorious weather, and a delightful pampering that included ironed sheets and designer breakfasst. When you get out your camera to photograph the plate, you know that you are in heaven and one taste confirms it.
All around the area are desert parks for every hiking level. We spent two afternoons at Saguaro West and another day driving up into the mountains to the ski area with vistas to die for. Many good restaurants are in the area, and Christine and Dennis have thoughtfully provided sheets of directions. Their library and pamphlet collection will steer you whereever you want to go: nature, shopping, museums, puebloan ruins.
The huge adobe home, its outbuildings, and grounds are convenient to the city but just far enough out for total quiet and a dark night sky full of stars. One evening we were treated to a javelina run around the house.
Little touches like bowls of candy, fruit, and home-baked cookies and cake for a snack make this place way better than any hotel I've ever stayed. If this isn't the Southwest's premier guesthouse, I don't know what is. You will arrive as guests and leave as friends.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank louallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We have been going to Azure Gate for the past five years and have always enjoyed ourselves -- never disappointed. The innkeepers, Dennis and Christine Widman make sure that all our needs are met -- from indescribably delicious breakfasts and comfortable rooms with good beds to recommendations at very good reasonably priced restaurants (with directions for getting there) and recommendations for a rewarding sightseeing experience.
We have recommended Azure Gate to friends and they too have had a superior time there.
Dennis and Christine are the friendliest innkeepers in this friendly city. We go there every
winter we get a chance. It is our first destination.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorrisWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Beautiful and beautifully decorated Arizona house surrounded by a paradise of desert gardens and wildlife. You feel like you're far from everything but shopping is only a few minutes away. Food unbelievable. Example; swordfish for breakfast!! The Widmans are wonderful people and wonderful hosts; very welcoming and generous with information and advice. Lots of books and an incredible video library; plus all the literature anyone could want about local attractions of all kinds. And we met really nice people around the breakfast table.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassMice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Dennis and Christine Widman are quite attentive hosts, making a stay at the Azure Gate memorable and satisfying to the soul. The service they provide is beyond compare, they always want the guest to have the best experience possible. The B & B is set amidst a lush desert landscape visited by local wildlife as well as guests. Sitting by the bird feeders in the back of the B & B is both relaxing and stimulating, as hummingbirds show their colors and quail, finches and other local residents come by at dawn and dusk to graze. The room I stayed in, within the main house, had a western feel- complete with saddle decoration. They have a comprehensive DVD/VCR tape library where you can pick out evening entertainment if you so choose. By far the most elaborate and enticing part I looked forward to was the breakfast. Christine is in charge of the fruit first course- slightly sweet, delightful and always elegantly presented. Dennis prepare the main part of the meal- something gourmet with a southwest splash that has his unique stamp on it. Sometimes a blue crab cake garnished with poached egg, corn salsa and a saguaro made out of guacamole. Or maybe an omelet filled with 3 kinds of mushrooms and a little gruyere cheese with a country hash on the side. All breakfasts are served on a lovingly set table decorated differently each day. A stay at the Azure Gate makes me feel spoiled in the best sense.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apricotkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
8.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#3 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
951 reviews
8.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
7.8 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.7 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9351 E Morrill Way, Tucson, AZ 85749-8550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 magical acres of desert botanical garden ambiance; two guest houses with kitchens; plus two guest rooms in the main house offer a range in pricing as well as length of stay; enjoy the library, chess room, living room, and outdoor oasis; walk through 10 Azure Gates designed by artist Simon Donovan; Come here to relax and enjoy the peace, beauty, and spirit of nature that is The Azure Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing