We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

I have stayed at a lot of B&B's in my day...this one is the best! Christine and Dennis are helpful, charming and excellent host. Breakfast is excellent! Rooms are quiet and delightful. The grounds are beautiful. In addition, the location of this property is great for hikers as it provides easy access the great local hiking. You won't want to leave :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainCitySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
367
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
st. paul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

This was our first stay. My husband and I found the Azure Gate on the internet and stayed 3 nights (I wish it could have been longer). This is the nicest B&B I have ever stayed at. Beautiful lodging and grounds with so many special touches. Both the owners and the other guests were wonderful people that we loved enjoying breakfast with. And the breakfasts! I took pictures of them they were so beautifully presented! Absolutely gourmet and delicious. We also got great tips on where to go hiking in the area from the owners. My husband and I will no doubt be going back to the Azure Gate - we had an absolutely wonderful stay. Shelly & Charlie from Minnesota

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellystpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

We took relaxing strolls around the property every morning and listened to the birds sings. Read the paper, had some great coffee and a wonderful breakfast each day.
They are very conscientious of special diet concerns and let me tell you they go out of their way everyone has a fabulous meal each morning whether you are a Non vegetarian, vegetarian, vegan or even have gluten allergies.

We stayed in the Santa Ana Cottage and loved it! Bright open air feeling with high huge windows and cozy decor. Although, the next time we visit we will pick a room without a loft - Getting up and down the narrow stairway to and from the room was a little scary in the dark of the night. I'm a wimp though and in my younger years would have enjoyed it. The cottage was stocked with drinks in the refrigerator, nibbles and candies on the coffee table. We could have stayed a month!

We highly recommend Azure Gate!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

Both my wife I enjoyed 6 fabulous days and nights at the Azure Gate B & B during the 1st week of Feb 2010. As a result of a last minute cancellation we were fortunate to secure lodging at this highly acclaimed Bed & Breakfast. Our hosts Dennis & Christine are one of the most charming, talented and accommodating people you will ever meet. I can't wait for Dennis to publish his breakfast cookbook. I am going to miss my early morning conversations with Dennis and Christine while they were both preparing breakfast for their guests. The accommodations were outstanding and the location was both close enough to be a short drive from downtown and far enough to enjoy the sights and sounds of the Desert. Delightful hosts generally attract friendly and delightful guests as well. During our stay the other guests were no exception. This made our stay even more enjoyable for my wife and me. My wife was overwhelmed with the local Gem show while I enjoyed exploring the local golf courses. Breakfast was a time when we shared our adventures and recommendations of the day before and discussed our plans for the current day. Both Dennis & Christine created an atmosphere that made it impossible for anyone not to have an enjoyable time. Anyone that is fortunate to secure lodging at this establishment will not be disappointed.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GemShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2010

This bed and breakfast was excellent value for money, the owners were extremely friendly and helpful and gave us lots of advice and tips on where to go. The breakfasts were very creative, delicious and different every day and the Catalina Guest House, the room we stayed in was very spacious as it was in its own building separate from the main house. It was much more than a room actually as it had a large gallery sleeping area, a terrace, kitchen and living room and the views of the mountains and surrounding garden were amazing. The desert landscape around the house was very beautiful and it's a lovely area to stay in as you're not too far from Tucson, there's plenty to do in the area and Dennis and Christine had printed out very useful driving instructions for every place that we wanted to visit which made getting there very easy. The only thing I would say is that if you want to go out and drink and not drive, then taxis aren't that easily available but the Catalina Guest house had a good kitchen area which we cooked in some nights, there are some decent places to eat close by and there is a Safeway supermarket very near by. We had a great 4 night stay and especially enjoyed the bottle of wine they had left for us in the kitchen after our long journey getting there! Don't miss the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum (where we had a very nice lunch at the Ocotillo cafe) and if you can get to see both Saguaro National Parks (East and West) we would recommend it as they are slightly different to one another. Southern Arizona (and the Azure Gate) is a great place to visit because of its scenery, food and the great people.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkLovetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

We are a young Australian professional couple living in Phoenix. We chose the Azure Gate because after reading about it we felt an affinity with the place and its owners and our experience there confirmed this. Dennis and Christine have created a magical B&B in a naturally beautiful environment in the foothills of Tucson.

We would recommend the Azure Gate to people who are lovers of quality small businesses, who love food and wine, who love nature and authenticity and who are happy to meet like minded people over delicious breakfasts! In a sea of bland corporate offerings, Azure Gate stands out as the ultimate desert experience for the discerning traveller.

We would definitely visit again. Thank you Dennis and Christine

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Localize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

I found this gem of a place on the Internet. Not ever being in Tucson and knowing no one there, I was taking a chance. What a delight The Azure Gate turned out to be!

Dennis met us upon arrival, after first providing us with detailed, excellent directions from the airport. He showed us around the 5-acre Sonora cacti garden and the main house, including a very-well stocked library of books and DVDs.

He then showed us to our separate 2-story bungalow (does one say "bungalow" in the southwest?). We opted for the Catalina and were quite pleased with our choice. A separate kitchen with full refrigerator, microwave, coffeepot, dishes, towels, everything that one needs in a kitchen. There was coffee, tea, FRESH cream in the refrigerator, a bowl of chocolates and another of mixed nuts. There was also a vase of roses on the white lacey tablecloth which I thought was fake until some petals dropped. And a divine bottle of cabernet. I don't know if the roses and wine are the usual or because I mentioned I was celebrating my birthday when I made the reservations.

The Catalina was tastefully and thoughtfully decorated. Everything from nightlights (two), stationery with pen, current Tucson magazines, hair dryer, terry cloth bathrobes, just everything was provided. We slept in a comfortable bed in a loft which overlooked the living room. There were a lot of windows which gave the bungalow an airy feel.

In the main house, Dennis and Christine had not only binders with restaurant and tourist recommendations, but directions to everyplace turn-by-turn. When we came into the main house in the mornings for breakfast and tell them of our plans for the day, they would give us directions from site to site.

Now the best part: BREAKFAST! I usually get by on coffee and something quick. Well, one does not want to be quick at The Azure Gate. I have traveled extensively and have stayed at the best hotels (Ritz, Four Seasons, blah blah) on six continents (okay, on one of the continents there are no hotels), but Dennis's breakfasts have beat everyplace everywhere. My camera was out all five mornings and took pictures of both courses each morning. (I have ten photos in all.) Michelin should come and have breakfast here. No kidding.

And, Christine set the breakfast table (and dining room) with lighted candles and arranged flowers every morning. Always a colorful dining table runner and placemats and pretty dishes and crystal stems for the mango with lime? or guava with ?, I can't remember because I was in a state of bliss.

I usually don't post on sites like this, but I'm thankful for my time at The Azure Gate and thankful for having met Dennis and Christine.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomayto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.3 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
8.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
8.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
7.8 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.7 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9351 E. Morrill Way, Tucson, AZ 85749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 magical acres of desert botanical garden ambiance; two guest houses with kitchens; plus two guest rooms in the main house offer a range in pricing as well as length of stay; enjoy the library, chess room, living room, and outdoor oasis; walk through 10 Azure Gates designed by artist Simon Donovan; Come here to relax and enjoy the peace, beauty, and spirit of nature that is The Azure Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing