We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around its still great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 45 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2009

I took my Wife to the Azure gate for her 50th Birthday in October of this year. It is the second time we have stayed with Christine and Dennis. We stayed in the Catalina Guest House which is a separate building to the rest of the house. As before the stay was superb and the food for breakfast was great. Dennis takes a lot of time and effort over his cooking and likes to explain what you are eating and how it was prepared. We love the desert but don't want to go into Tucson except to shop. The local road system in the area will get you around without having to venture into the Tucson city centre. The Azure gate has a large desert garden and has a Bobcat that comes to visit somedays, it didn't make an appearance whilst we were there, more the pity. Dennis is a wildlife photographer and is only to happy to talk about his adventures in the wilderness. Christine is a lovely person and is only to willing to help with local visits and advice. Overall if my wife and I were to go and live in the states we would pick the outer Tucson area and the Azure gate is the sort of life style we would choose. Even in the winter months the weather is great. Long live the Azure Gate. Ken & Eleanor Wood, England

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 528 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2009

Dennis and Christine are wonderful hosts. They have created a very special Inn. Join Dennis for early coffee as he prepares inventive and consistently delicious breakfasts. Rooms are great and terrific value. Christine is a delight - writes childrens' books and our Grandsons have enjoyed each one. Perhaps one of the best things is its location in a natural desert surrounding - beautiful cacti up close and personal! Everyone to whom we have recommended Azuregate has been thrilled.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

In 40 years of vacationing, there's no place I've retuned to so many times! My first visit was a special treat for my birthday that was an exceptional experience. The beauty of the surrounding mountains and the property itself is the setting for wonderful times. We returned last year with 2 friends because we were sure they would love staying there also. Dennis and Christine are friendly and helpful hosts. It's obvious that they really enjoy having guests and do everything possible to welcome and accommodate people.

We have stayed in the main house and the guest house and both have advantages. In the main house, we had easy access to the refrigerator, the library (with its extensive movie collection), the living area and could check out Christine's latest offering of homemade cake or cookies. All guests have access to these amenities, of course. The guest house provides more privacy, but one highlight of our visits has been meeting the interesting people who stay there, including Christine and Dennis. The breakfasts are truly outstanding whether served in the dining room or on the patio overlooking the pool. The food is so fresh and beautifully presented--and delicious. The rooms are well furnished, very clean and comfortable.

I always enjoy walking around the neighborhood or the B&B property itself. The courtyard surrounding the pool is lovely and a great spot to relax with a cup of coffee and a book . When we stayed with our friends, we often had wine and snacks there in the evening after a great day of sightseeing. The birds and other wildlife (once we saw a bobcat) are a bonus.

The location is convenient to visiting Sabino Canyon, Mount Lemmon and Saguaro National Park. These are all great for hiking and enjoying a picnic lunch. Being a short way from the city itself is an advantage because of the peacefulness and great mountain view.

When you visit, just tell Dennis and Christine what you enjoy doing and they will have lots of suggestions for you. The beauty of Tucson and the hospitality at the Azure Gate create a wonderful, memorable visit.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dschul3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Wow, what an amazing place. My wife and I have stayed at the Azure Gate a bunch of times now and it is our favorite place to stay in all of Arizona. We have visited many BNBs and fine hotels over the years so that is saying a lot. The rooms are so comfortable and beautiful. The Azure Gate is located in East Tucson at the road leading up to Mount Lemmon. It is surrounded by beautiful landscapes and mountains. The rooms are very private and if you feel like looking around you can go into the main guest house. They have lovely places to sit and relax, with music, a book/music/video library, play a nice game of chess, etc. Dennis and Christine are the most amazing people and make you feel right at home…..and if you are a foodie prepare to be IMPRESSED. Their breakfast could not be surpassed at the finest gourmet hot spot. Just outside the main house is a beautiful oasis with swimming pool and lounge chairs to catch in the sun. Surrounded by plants and animals you feel a deep tranquil feeling. The guest houses are amazing as well…everything is very modern/clean/beautiful. Tucson offers great shopping / dinning and entertainment. Some of the old town galleries on Tanque Verde are a great time and our favorite dinner spot is called the dish (wine bar with great food). You are also right by Mount Lemon. By itself it is a scenic drive and you can go up to Summer Heaven for a fun day trip. There are a ton of trails and hikes as well. Sabino Canyon is nearby and is another great day trip during your stay @ the Azure. We live in Phoenix and taking the drive is also part of the fun. We take 60 Towards Globe and then catch 79 South through Florence. It takes about the same amount of time and is very pretty. You may also want to catch Biosphere 2 or catch one of the huge caves in Southern AZ. Take our word for it, this place is the best gift you could possibly give yourself. Have fun! 

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnstakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at The Azure Gate four or five times and we always find something new and delightful when we visit. We have sampled most of the rooms and found them to be comfortable, beautifully decorated, with thoughtful amenities available.

The pool and oasis are at the center of the Azure Gate and offer a peaceful place to relax and listen to birdsong. A short walk on the property, will take you into the desert landscape. On occasion, you can hear the coyotes sing in the distance, at night.

The breakfasts are the most delicious, gourmet meals, beautifully presented, either in the large dining room or the patio near the pool. You will find yourself wishing you could eat three meals a day here.

A short drive away, are shops and restaurants and a trip to Old Tucson will give you a different view of the area.

The owners, Christine and Dennis and most welcoming and accommodating hosts and have amassed a large collection of information about nearby hikes and sights, as well as an entertainment library.

We look forward to returning to The Azure Gate for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cottagegardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

This is a magical place – close to everything, but a world apart. The amazing, beautiful, and AMPLE breakfasts carry us through our day. Dennis and Christine are wonderful ambassadors and guides to Southern Arizona, no matter what the interest. We managed to hike almost every day for two weeks, and we haven’t even scratched the surface. Azure Gate is a real respite from “real life.” Thank you so much --we’ll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobcat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

It was a magical wonderful visit. Our escape from winter. We enjoyed exploring the desert, the mountains - the Catalinas, the Tucsons, & the Chiricahuas - & the gardens here at the Azure Gate. We also had the good fortune to have a great view of the bobcat. We look forward to this respite every year and the memory of the warmth carries us into the spring.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.3 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#16 of 129 in Tucson
1,019 reviews
23.1 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
819 reviews
10.8 mi away
Royal Elizabeth Inn
Royal Elizabeth Inn
#3 of 45 in Tucson
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.7 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
4.7 mi away
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9351 E Morrill Way, Tucson, AZ 85749-8550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: $130 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 magical acres of desert botanical garden ambiance; two guest houses with kitchens; plus two guest rooms in the main house offer a range in pricing as well as length of stay; enjoy the library, chess room, living room, and outdoor oasis; walk through 10 Azure Gates designed by artist Simon Donovan; Come here to relax and enjoy the peace, beauty, and spirit of nature that is The Azure Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing