We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 47 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best B&B experience ever”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Dennis and Christine are delightful hosts and our Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast experience was fabulous! I don't think they could have made it any better. Christine is a fact finder and has tons of information available to guest of area attractions. Dennis is an accomplished chef and cooks the most delicious breakfasts. We felt very welcome in their lovely, clean and well appointed home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
382
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We found Azure Gate in 2007 and have returned every year since. Dennis and Christine are delightful hosts and have become dear friends. They are extremely knowledgeable of the area and can assist you in your daily travels. The guest houses and and grounds are beautiful. Azure Gate is close to the Saguaro Nat'l Park (east), Mt Lemmon and Sabino Canyon. Dennis and Christine's breakfasts are beautiful to look at and so delicious.

Room Tip: We first rented the Santa Ana Guest House, but now have fallen in love with the Catalina House. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoggerheadShrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We both agreed that the breakfast Dennis prepared for us each morning out on the patio was the best we have had at a B&B anywhere. Our room was extremely comfortable and It was so nice waking up to nothing but the sounds of the birds. Christine had everything you could possibly want in the way of travel and restaurant info. There was always coffee, tea, fruit, water, sodas and those irresistible chocolate covered almonds available. The property is close to everything Tucson has to offer. We would never consider staying anyplace else in Tucson.

Room Tip: For lots of privacy choose the room with the bed in the loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We'd booked to stay at the Azure Gate for two nights at the start of our week driving around Arizona. But after one night, we knew we wanted to stay for longer! Fortunately Christine and Dennis were able to let us stay one extra night so we were lucky enough to enjoy this desert oasis for longer.

As fairly quiet people, we were a little hesitant at first about the 'all sit round the breakfast table' start to the day. Normally that's our worst nightmare - having to talk to strangers before the first cup of coffee of the day!!! But we need not have worried. The other guests were fascinating and we made some firm friends as we shared Dennis's amazing gourmet breakfasts.

Such kind hosts. - it felt more like staying at an. Old friends home than a b&b. the room and communal space were comfy and stylish with some beautiful touches such as the hand glazed tiles I n the bathroom. And Christine's amazing table decoration was a joy to see each day.

We spent some happy time mooching around the grounds - spotting birds and photographic the flora. The cacti were in bloom so it was gorgeous.

We are already a planning our return!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxcat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My one night visit to Azure Gate B&B was too short! The proprietors make every effort to make your stay comfortable and personally tailored to your tastes and interests - all without being fussy or intrusive. They provide heaps of easy to use resources on local events, restaurants, and activities. A really lovely and serene desert garden with naturalistic landscaping is enlivened by a variety of wildlife drawn to fountains, feeders, and plantings. I especially enjoyed my nighttime swim after a very long drive, and the tasty breakfast offerings were delicious and memorable. Dennis and Christine obviously put their heart and soul into this operation, and it shows. I hope to stay at Azure Gate again and take full advantage of the great location, calming vibe, and very kind hospitality

Room Tip: Rooms are available in both the main house and in separate bungalow type setting. I opted for a mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesilla, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

thanks to tripadvisor and the great reviews this B&B received we made a reservation for a stay on our way back from California to New Mexico...we highly recommend staying here if you are in Tucson...really enjoyed walking the grounds around the Azure Gate...superb accommodations and best of all - The Breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed with Christine and Dennis at the Azure Gate now at least four times. Every time we have the most gorgeously presented, delicious and creative breakfasts with superb custom-mixed creative breakfast juices (my favorite is mango/lime). I always dip in the lovely sparkling clear swimming pool and rest my head on the edge to watch the birds that come close to feed on the ground (mostly the doves) and the thistle feeder (the many warblers and finches). Last year we saw a clutch of quail eggs hatch in a glazed pot by the entrance courtyard - and I helped the little balls of fluff find their way out from under the cactus to unite with their worried mom! A wander around the property or the neighborhood can reveal wildlife, such as the javalina that we saw on the road, or perhaps the many bobcats that Dennis has photographed. Be sure not to miss looking at the wonderful books of his photography around the western US (including Alaska) - he has encountered over 450 bears in the course of his photography travels!!! This is a haven for birders and anyone who loves wildlife and very close to Sauaro National Park where we always take our pre-breakfast and pre-dinner hikes. Also, Dennis and Christine offer a superb library of informational resources that you may borrow (such as topographical maps of the National Park) or brochures, plus restaurant recommendations and reviews. We will go back next spring!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyrinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
8.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
688 reviews
8.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
7.3 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
777 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.7 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9351 E Morrill Way, Tucson, AZ 85749-8550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 magical acres of desert botanical garden ambiance; two guest houses with kitchens; plus two guest rooms in the main house offer a range in pricing as well as length of stay; enjoy the library, chess room, living room, and outdoor oasis; walk through 10 Azure Gates designed by artist Simon Donovan; Come here to relax and enjoy the peace, beauty, and spirit of nature that is The Azure Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing