We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Visit to Tucson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 46 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
“Wonderful Visit to Tucson”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with Christine and Dennis. The location, property, accommodations, and most especially, the breakfast were first-rate. Christine and Dennis were so warm, friendly, and knowledgeable (things to do, where to go, etc.) about Tucson. We will recommend Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast to any of our friends travelling to Tucson.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
385
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
woodstock, IL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My father in law often used the expression "another perfect day" near the end of his life to convey his satisfaction and happiness with a family activity or outing. When other guests asked us if we had stayed at the Azure Gate previously, we told them this was our ninth visit! The service provided by Dennis and Christine beginning with the welcome, then the lovely main house and rooms which are always spotlessly clean, plus the helpfulness of the hosts to help us manage our time, and finally the most outstanding breakfast meals I have EVER had at a B&B in more than 25 years of traveling in the US, Canada and Western Europe - is hard to top!

Our vacation to the desert is usually a time to recover from the busy demands of modern life and a long season of elderly parent care, so the unhurried pace at Azure Gate, the attention to detail and the serenity suits us to a "T".

I had to recommend it TOO strenuously since there are only 4 rooms at this Inn. But if you plan your trip carefully, and inquire as soon as you know your itinerary, staying at the Azure Gate can make any trip outstanding.

Room Tip: My wife and I prefer the casitas, but we have stayed in all the rooms during our many visits. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelredding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a spur of the moment vacation in Tucson. Looking for something different, we checked Trip Advisor for the number one B & B in the area. That led us to a thoroughly delightful and unexpected one week stay at Azure Gate. Dennis and Christine are warm, friendly hosts who go out of their way to make your stay easy and enjoyable. With B & B's that's almost a given. But there is absolutely no way we were prepared for the breakfasts they served. Each meal is a masterpiece--and all different. The table settings each match the varing courses. Its like the best breakfast you ever had, then topped the next day. Most of the guests we shared meals with were repeat customers. And the warm atmosphere created by our hosts certainly influenced the comfort level of the guests. Each day we shared the previous day's activities and offered suggestions to each other. We experienced so much more than we had a right to expect. Thank you Trip Advisor, and thank you Dennis, Christine and fellow guests. Garry and Ann Jones, Lewiston, Idaho

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryandAnnJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were back for the 3rd year in a row - 4 nights (and 4 breakfasts!) staying in the Santa Ana guest house. I think this has become our favorite room in what is certainly the best B&B we've ever encountered. This place is simply fabulous in every regard, highlighted, of course, by the unique and consistently excellent breakfasts, but also by the warm and helpful manner of Dennis and Christine, the attention to the most minute details, and the physical beauty of the place. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We like the Santa Ana, semi-detached with kitchenette, so we (early risers) can wake to coffee in ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Yode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

From the first minute you step foot into the Azure Gate B & B, you feel that you feel welcome and at home... the rooms are beautifully appointed and comfortable. Of course, the best part is the
exquisite breakfast prepared each morning...From the beautiful dinner service, napkins, and silver ware, fresh flowers on the table, to the companionship with the other guests... Its great to sit outside on the patio next to the pool, weather permitting, to have a snack, or adult beverage and view the ever changing colors of the nearby mountains... Wonderful place to stay.... Ron & Lynn

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillcountrygal95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed in the Catalina Guesthouse for 3 days for our anniversary. We had a great time in the Catalina..privacy when we wanted it, company when we didn't.
As others have said, the breakfasts are incredible..there is nothing I could add.
The only complaint we had is the bed was too hard for us..it would have benefited from a memory foam topper I think.
There is a small LCD tv in the Catalina if you need to stay in informed.
Bu the heart of the Azure Gate is its keepers, Dennis and Christine. Even though we stayed at a very busy time for them (their daughter was being married) we didn't feel neglected. A truly special place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOSTER
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ended up first time at the Azure Gate by accident. A different B&B was full. They referred us to the Azure Gate ... and the rest, as they say..... Look: we have a second home we rent to people, in France. We know what guests expect. And we know what we expect, as frequent world travelers. And everything we want, the Azure Gate thinks of. Because that's who Dennis (a former "humane management" consultant) and Christine (children's book author) are: thoughtful about the comfort of their guests. When we arrived late from the airport this time (Jan 2013), we found the lights on, a bottle of good white wine on the table, two different snack jars full to the brim, and a big bouquet of gorgeous roses in our living room. We go here for (1) the attitude, which is relaxed; (2) the hospitality of Dennis and Christine, which is flawless; (3) the incredible breakfasts they make, with Dennis as lead and Christine as sous chef [think of the most complicated, gourmet, exquisite breakfast you've encountered? this will equal or better it, morning after morning]; (4) the other guests [in Jan. we had to tear ourselves away from the breakfast table, exchanging tips and stories; great crowd; all ages; very interesting; varies daily]; (5) Tucson generally [a fascinating city that just keeps getting more intriguing; a blue city in a red state; home of a great research university, the world's best air museum [Smithsonian only wishes], incredible food [try Feast on Speedway or the distressingly-unpretentious Poco and Mom's on S. Kolb], and surrounded by hike-worthy mountains; and (6) cacti. Going to Tucson from New England is like going to Mars. We love the saguaro. I bring leather gloves so I can safely touch cacti. The Azure Gate is right in the middle of the scenery, on the skirts of the Catalinas.

Room Tip: We like the bigger ones, with kitchens. Since we stay for a week, we go out and buy groceries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
8.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
694 reviews
23.1 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
780 reviews
8.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.7 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
8.1 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9351 E Morrill Way, Tucson, AZ 85749-8550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 magical acres of desert botanical garden ambiance; two guest houses with kitchens; plus two guest rooms in the main house offer a range in pricing as well as length of stay; enjoy the library, chess room, living room, and outdoor oasis; walk through 10 Azure Gates designed by artist Simon Donovan; Come here to relax and enjoy the peace, beauty, and spirit of nature that is The Azure Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing