We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying-V Bar & Grill

Flying-V Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Flying-V Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,904 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Bar, Gluten Free Options, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North Kolb/Sunrise
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
240 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We go with friends for a special treat. We forget its there and don't go as often as we should. The setting is very SW sophisticated and delightfully spicy. Love the guacamole made at the table.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank grand old girl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    118
    34
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“My favorite Tucson eatery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My mom and I chose to celebrate my birthday here because it's my favorite place to eat--bar none! Our wait person Michael Schranz was attentive and very enjoyable personally. Daniel the manager was very personable as well. We felt very welcome and appreciated from the moment we walked in. The food was so good that we couldn't bear to waste a bite! We fed the fish in the pond to work off some of our indulgences. It was, as usual, a wonderful experience all the way around.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redondo beach, ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner to celebrate a birthday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Was there to celebrate a big birthday with a party of 5. Service and atmosphere very nice. Sat inside since it was rather hot out at 5 pm (early dinner) but could see how it would be nice to sit outside if later or cooler out . Excellent service. Had the infamous tableside guac. which did not disappoint. Shared several seafood dishes which the restaurant had already split for us which was nice. Presentation was beautiful. Food was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank harumi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Celebrate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We chose to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary dinner at the Flying-V, and were glad we picked it. The tableside guacamole was great, with fresh ingredients mixed at our table, how could it not taste fabulous. My husband had the angus beef filet (Tripadvisor reviewers' recommendations) that he said melted in his mouth and was out of this world. I had the Pork Chops which was very good.

Our server, Austin, was wonderful. He was friendly, professional and attentive, as was the runner. We were treated very well. We had a corner window table over looking the golf course. It was such a wonderfully relaxing romantic evening.

I would recommend this restaurant for a romantic evening out. It was worth the price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank garfieldgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A great place to eat with friends and family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

When we arrived at the Flying V we were not sure on what to expect but were pleasantly surprised by the casual yet beautiful atmosphere. The food was amazing (the guac made by the guac girl was heavenily!) And the service was just perfect. I cant believe a gem like the Flying V had been in my back yard and I never tried it before this. We will be sure to come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanci_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying-V Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Flying-V Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing