We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Tucson

“Great food but don’t sit near exterior door ”

El Charro Cafe - Ventana
Order Online
OR
Order Online
Ranked #77 of 2,268 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Although there were lots of options, we were seated next to the door to the outdoor area. It was a cold night, and people were constantly using the door - cold and annoying!!!!
The food is excellent with lots of choices. From 4-6 there is a happy hour menu with several great choices. I ordered the three tostada option where you can choose from chicken tinga, pork, carne asada, etc. There was a full plate of food, which I could barely finish, for the low price of only $7. My husband had the enchiladas, which were also tasty.
I would offer a 5 if seated at a better table. We were cold and bothered near the door.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank cjkines1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 522 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2020

comprehensive menu, good service(attentive staff), reasonable prices make this a classic downtown favorite ..note parking can be an issue

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jackpine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

Had a good dinner. Service was good. Food came out fast and was hot. Taste was good. Chips and dip had a good taste. Yes I would come back.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 832davidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

El Charro Cafe- Ventana is located in Northeast Tucson near the Loews Ventana Hotel and Golf Course. The restaurant is very popular and a reservation is a good idea. The menu is extensive with lots of Mexican specialties and of course there is a full bar. We were there for dinner around 7:00 PM on a weeknight without a reservation and we had to wait about 25 minutes for a table. The food and service was very good and we will return the next time we are in Tucson.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DarylJ552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2019 via mobile

Excellent dinner, lovely atmosphere restaurant had agreat variety of food choices. Staff friendly and prompt. I definitely would return if lived in the area.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank WatchingClouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charro Cafe - Ventana also viewed

 

Been to El Charro Cafe - Ventana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing