We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Location is the Best...”

El Charro Cafe - Ventana
Ranked #52 of 1,990 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This Location is the Best...”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

There are a few of these El Charro's here in Tucson, and we have been to all of them, and keep coming back to this one. The food and service are consistently great, as others are not. The view at this Sunrise Location is very nice as the Catalina Mountains are nearby. They have an outdoor Patio area near the bar, and off the main dining area and both are shaded for summer evening dining. Happy Hour prices are wonderful, and we actually had the Cinco de Summer plates that were tasty and just enough along with there tasty Guacamole and a Coconut Flan dessert. The draft beer at Happy hour are, I believe half off, so enjoy the beer, great food and the best service in the Foothills of Tucson.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elpsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    133
    53
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My Favorite spot”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I bring every visitor we have to El Charro on Court street. The food is among the best in Tucson, reasonably priced, and the historic building and atmosphere are "so Tucson".

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not Sure What the Fuss is About”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were in town for a relaxing vacation, so I took the recommendations of Tripadvisor reviewers for the El Charro since we didn't know restaurants in Tucson. Neither of us were all that impressed with this place. I will say that it is a very nicely decorated place, but the service was so-so and the food was, honestly, nothing special. My husband had the "pick your enchiladas" plate that he said was just okay, but only one of the three enchiladas tasted good, the other two were dry and tasteless. I had the beef burrito dinner. I did not like it very much as it was a smallish flour tortilla, with wet (I mean very, very drippy wet) beef in it. The tortilla wasn't all that warm and the filling was just weird with all that juice. It was a soupy, rather dull burrito. Both meals were served with a strange side of rice. There were carrots and peas in the rice. The flavor was drab and reminded me of something you'd get in a package from the grocery store. The charro beans were so, so plain. Again, open up a store bought can of beans, heat them and you'll duplicate El Charro's beans.

I really wanted to like this place and even told my husband that everyone on Tripadvisor loved this place, so I know it'll be great. Wrong. If we lived in the area, we would not choose this place again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garfieldgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An old standby”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Consistently average. Can't say much either good or bad about it. It's reliably mediocre but with nice surroundings.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TucsonteacherTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
150 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Close to Loews resort”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We went here while staying at the Loews resort in Tucson. There are 4 restaurants they will shuttle you to - this looked like a good option. Menu was the usual but it was very tasty. I had a salad with grilled citrus shrimp - great presentation and good taste. It was pretty healthy and I had some veggies to take back for a snack. My husband had chicken and shrimp fajitas - not a huge platter but enough to take some home. Pitcher of margs was good - not too tart. I would redvommend El Charro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudyAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charro Cafe - Ventana also viewed

 

Been to El Charro Cafe - Ventana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing