We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, nice location, better for breakfast than for dinner”

Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress
Reserve with OpenTable
Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,986 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th Ave.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
166 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good service, nice location, better for breakfast than for dinner”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ate there for dinner based on the rave reviews (people said great burgers and fish and chips). We got both and both were just average. We asked how heavy the fish were battered and we were told "lightly" they came medium to heavy battered.

Ate there for breakfast and the coffee, selections, portion size and quality was very good. The bottom line for us was it seems to be better for breakfast/lunch/brunch than for a dinner destination. We stayed at the hotel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2dine054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and that our breakfasts lived up to the hype, but I am disapointed that our Burger and our Fish & Chips, which are two of our best selling and most popular items, didn't meet your standards. Hopefully next time we'll win you over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    249
    45
    20
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What happened?”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We've had good experiences at this restaurant in the past but the last two visits were so bad that I had to write about them. First, a family dinner. All the dishes were so badly prepared with such terrible ingredients that it's hard to believe a restaurant would serve them - for example, a steak special that was a tasteless end cut, tough and with lots of gristle, a pork dish was literally a roll of fat, and a salmon dish that was overcooked and floating in some tasteless liquid that was supposed to be a sauce. Add to that the outrageous prices and some obsequious service and you can imagine that this was a memorable evening for the wrong reasons. But because of the favorable experiences in the past we went back thinking that perhaps we had been there on a bad evening. So next it was a family Sunday brunch with young children. The breakfast dishes are fine and when we got service it was also acceptable. Our problem on this occasion was the wait time. We called ahead and were told it would be about a 15 min wait. We arrived 10 min later and were told the wait time was now 30 min. An hour later we were seated and after another 30 min we finally had service. During the hour we waited, the table that we eventually occupied remained empty. Of course, wait times are unpredictable and circumstances (perhaps staff did not arrive?) change. But in retrospect it was discourteous of the restaurant not to warn us about the likely wait times, especially as we were there with young children. In summary, the Cup Cafe cannot be recommended at the moment. I agree with another review that you should avoid any dishes that are more than a basic burger at dinner and it would be worth quizzing the hostess about realistic wait times whenever you visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoulinRouge_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
If there is ever a problem, be it quality of food or service, PLEASE ask for a manager. We have an AM and a PM boss with the full authority to correct any and all issues and we are more then happy to do so. It kills me to think you love our place, and had back-to-back lousy visits. The next time you're here, ask for either of us personally and we'll make sure the place lives up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“not worth it”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Pros
fast service
Cons
downtown Tucson a mess...pathetic revamp process...AVOID
food below average
fish and chips greasy and tasteless
meat balls nothing to write home about
deserts average at best
hummus plate was fair
never go back

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank J3GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
I don't really have any control over Downtown construction, but thanks for complimenting our speed of service and we hope you'll give our menu another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Kentucky
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Memorable Deserts”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

You might travel to Tucson for the weather but you will return for a piece of Lemon Merengue Pie from Cup Cafe ... I can't describe how wonderful it is! The place is a special piece of southwestern culture & history. Five stars over and over again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank smartinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Rockstars, Politicians, and most importantly, our customers all agree that we have one of the best Lemon Merengue Pies anywhere. The baker lives for this kind of praise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
224 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fresh and wonderful”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Had the delicious and healthy meal at this hold historic restaurant. I had the best sauteed mussels I ever had. Great food, great ambience! Thank you to the staff!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spolar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your meal, but sadly that dish has been been discontinued. The Chef loves creating new and exciting dishs, but that does mean he has to rotate our offerings. I'm sure that there is always something for everyone at The Cup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress also viewed

 

Been to Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing