We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is great”

Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress
Reserve with OpenTable
Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 2,031 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th Ave.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Eclectic menu. They accomadate dietary restrictions. Great atomosphere..different than your average restaurant. Wait staff is always good. The history of the building seems to permeate the air, from the pennys in the floor to the saying on the wall. Always a neat experience.

Thank ArizonaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

We're proud to have a menu that lets people have several options for most dietary restrictions, and keep an eye out for our lettuce wrapped falafel that is both gluten-free and vegan, coming out later this month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

600 - 604 of 706 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is the perfect evening no matter who you're with or even if you're alone. The ambiance of a historic hotel cannot be beat. The sight of the beautiful Catalina mountains from a brand new patio cannot be beat. The promise of a haunted tour of the rooms, including John Dillinger's room, titillates almost as much as the lineup of entertainment awaiting beyond the dinner hour. Maybe a local trio on the Cup's patio, maybe an indie group or karaoke or a costume affair in their ballroom, or perhaps an international act in the small intimate venue cross the street at the Rialto - or heck, maybe take in all 3 before the night's done! By the way don't forget the food - the best burger in town along with plenty of other great dishes and specials, and a dessert case to die for. Really.

Thank Howdydoothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

We don't have an offical tour schedule, but if you come during the day we can almost always find someone in the building that can take you up stairs for a visit to our permenent residents in rooms 220 or 242

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Located in the Hotel Congress in downtown Tucson, where John Dillinger was captured, the Cup Cafe is one of our favorite breakfast places. Street parking is poor, but there is a small lot behind the hotel. Our server, Dominique, was pleasant and knowledgeable. The atmosphere is funky and unpretentious. The wife had the tofu scramble while I had a concoction of poached eggs and brisket on sourdough bread (I don't recall the name). Both excellent. We have eaten here a number of times in the past, and will continue to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

The Silverside Hash was once just a special and is now a part of our regular menu. Our chefs need almost a week to prepare it, but it's worth it knowing how much our guests love it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you enjoy eating a good meal while you sit in the middle of a historic site, then this is your place to be! The Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress has many historic pictures and artifacts that kept my attention for a couple of hours. Jessica was an excellent waitress and an even better historian wrapped with a wonderful personality. Across the street is the historic Tucson train station and museum. Many other stores are all around this location and are a pleasant walk in any direction.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Olemcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

As the anchor of Downtown's east end, we're so glad to hear that you enjoyed the history of our hotel while visiting Tucson. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Hotel Congress is a must see, even if only for a drink at the lobby bar (just outside the Cup Cafe). The hotel dates back to the 1920s and has that Arizona deco look that is pretty cool. The bar serves up great margaritas and other mixed drinks--made by an acrobatic bartender/showman.
The Cup Cafe serves traditional American dishes at moderate prices. Nothing fancy, but very generous portions.

1  Thank BlueNWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Our lobby bartenders pride themselves on offering Southwest hospitality while mixing some of the best cocktails you'll find anywhere in the world. Thank you for visiting, we hope to see you again the next time you're in Tucson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress also viewed

 

Been to Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing