We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Sushi”

Ichiban Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #1,076 of 1,994 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Durango, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good Sushi”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Went with friends for dinner who knew this restaurant. Our friends have been there before as they visit the area occasionally. The sushi was very fresh and came in a reasonable amount of time. We had no complaints, on our visit in March, as noted in some recent comments.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JM0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Not sure why other comments on poor service - we eat here every couple of weeks and the service is always prompt and friendly. And the sushi is excellent - very fresh, with the ingredients in proper proportions.

They also made a couple of special rolls like the Hawaiian that are especially good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Sushi on the East Side of Tucson”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The food is great here, don't expect exceptional service. You'll get what your ordered, but without a smile. I have eaten in and taken out- and the food has always been great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KaitlynMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop, Arizona, USA
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Decent food, but not worth the tension!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We ate at Ichiban a week ago and we were shocked at the behavior of the management at this restaurant. She was openly yelling at her staff, belittling them in front of customers. It was TERRIBLE! When I go to a restaurant, it is a treat for me, not an everyday occurrence. If I wanted to experience a verbally abusive situation, I would have gone to a public debate, not a restaurant! Please - correct this behavior or remove this woman from the restaurant. I won't be back until others tell me this has been corrected.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AZtwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Service Tops The List”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I thought leaving Wichita Falls, TX, and my family-friendly sushi bar I would never find similar in Tucson. After all, it is the desert. The sushi you do find here is what I would compare to "fast food" sushi - get it fast, get a lot, get it at a "deal". This is not something we prefer. Having two small children who love sushi as much as my husband & me, our bill can get pretty high. Yet settling for "all you can eat" sushi is not the answer. At Ichiban, not only is it on the east side, closer to our home, but the head sushi chef / manager is always ready to greet us with a smile. His staff of friendly servers and sushi chefs are always smiling, happy to see us, and extremely interested in seeing our children. From the moment we walk in the door we are treated like family. The kids are welcomed and given little treats to keep them occupied. Cheater chop sticks always tickle their fancy. The service is what makes us keep going back, but the sushi is so fresh - every time we go, any day of the week or weekend! Their selection icludes items I don't see other places, but also the usual. There are also "hidden" specials - just ask for an off the menu specialty and see what they have in store for you. There are people of all ages & types in the restaurant, and a large flat screen television touts the latest sports event. This is a true dining experience. Just be sure to save enough room for dessert. I suggest their tempura fried green tea ice cream - large enough for two.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CookerOfFaith40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ichiban Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing