We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Frost Gelato

Frost Gelato
Ranked #4 of 59 Dessert in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The gelato is amazing. It's so yummy. They let you try any of the flavors so that it is hard to choose which one or ones to enjoy!

The staff is here is fun and the service is great. We have noticed a big difference between Frost locations. The one here is great. The one located at La Encantata is also very good. Don't go to the one on Oracle! The staff there just doesn't seem to be as good.

The staff at this location brings out small glasses of water while you are enjoying your gelato. They always seem to be wiping up a spill or a spot on the floor. They always greet you when you walk in the door.

This is the place for a yummy treat. Yes, it's a little pricey. What do they say? An affordable luxury?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nurabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    14
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Yum! Half the calories of ice cream?”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I had never tried gelato before, so I have little in the gelato world to which I can compare tonight's visit to Frost. But I can say that it was delicious! The sign right outside the door advertises that one scoop of ice cream has the same calories as two scoops of gelato. Of course I ordered 2 scoops of gelato to compensate. That set me back about $4, but I was ok with that when the creamy delight went into my mouth. I had limoncello and espresso chip. My husband had coconut. All were intense, creamy and delicious. The presentation of the flavors were beautiful. The limoncello had a little bottle of limoncello in it and of course the espresso chip had a little mug of espresso beans in it. It was a warm night so we ate outside. Most nights in Tucson are like this, so the limited indoor seating at little tables wouldn't probably be a big problem. Overall, a great place. I'll put this on my list for the next time we visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teachcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wow! This stuff is addicting! The caramel sea salt was awesome, as were the five other flavors we tried.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank brennakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVAGE
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Real Surprise”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The gelato was very good. We had not idea what to expect but were so pleased that we returned a couple days later. Wonderful presentation, samples, great favors and very creamy! This is a must stop!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JIL O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Gelato”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

the gelato is rich and creamy and so many choices. Getting tastes helps me decide. There really isn't anything to dislike.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank yum920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frost Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Frost Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing