We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stunning Vistas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway

Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway
Ranked #4 of 262 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning Vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wonderful place to take visitors or just get out of the heat on a hot summer day. Great quick trip from the desert to the pine trees.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna85718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,225
    264
    28
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nature's beauty and sounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Today I didn't want to be in the heat of the desert or hear the landscapers at my apt. So I headed up the mountain. I hiked in the area near Ski Valley. It was so awesome leaving the noise of the city behind. While I was hiking I concentrated on the beauty of life coming back after a major fire many years ago. To see the life of the different insects, birds, etc that now can call this home for them. Sometimes it was so quite you could hear a pin drop. It was so great to be able to refocus. You can see the city in whole another view. God's creation is so beautiful. It was great spending time with him and his creation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank donna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson Az
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“From the Sonoran Desert to Alpine Mountains!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Short drive from Tucson to the Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway in the Catalina Mountains. Incredible views the whole roadway to the charming village of Summerhaven, going through multiple changes of environments like driving from Tucson to Canada in about an hour! Many activities possible such as hiking, camping, fishing, nature hiking, the Mt. Lemmon Sky Center Observatory, Ski Valley, art and music events in Summerhaven. Many places to park and take photos. Wonderful, wonderful new road. Great place to take visitors, especially in the summer when temps are 20-30 degrees cooler than the desert!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margery W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I love Mt.Lemmon! I took the kids up to do a hike up in Summerhaven and was excited to see where I used to go all the time to camp and hike as a kid. I was bummed that the forest is still recovering from the fire but it is coming back. The weather was perfect rain and sun. We drove past the ski resort to the top by the observatory and hiked around. We grabbed lunch in Summerhaven at the sawmill and loved the food. Cant wait to go again such a fun drive!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SK8CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great mountain views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Many outlooks and a well maintained road. Ski lift at the top is interesting and the view on top is worth the price. Summerhaven is worth a look.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wally l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing