We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service ok, food... not so much” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cattletown

Cattletown
Ranked #599 of 1,935 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Seafood, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
El Paso, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service ok, food... not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Cattletown was one of a list of recommendations by the hotel we were staying in, being nearby. The service was polite and prompt, seating immediate. However, the food lacked luster. The salad consisted of a little iceberg lettuce with a few canned beans and a single cherry tomato. The steak tasted like it had not been seasoned by anything other than charred material from the grill it was cooked on. I ordered my steak rare and it was definitely more medium than rare. The first impression of the restaurant was not a good one as an odd aroma hit me when entering. The whole atmosphere is dark and drab. I had thought about a seafood dish but found that the choice of fish was cod, cod, or cod - battered and deep fried. Or you could have shellfish: shrimp or rock lobster. The menu seemed limited. They could use a visit from Chef Irvine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    40
    28
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great family restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a great family restaurant with lots of menu items. We had the sirloin special and found it quite good. The steak was tender and everything was cooked just right. Our waitress was very helpful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dalichandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Cattletown was recommended to us by the desk clerk at our hotel. It is located in a relatively poor neighborhood among many small, manufactured homes but don't let that discourage you. The food and service were just fine. The restaurant stands out by its 'false front' of cowboy buildings, and when you walk in the first thing you notice is the smell of good meat cooking. If you don't like that, stay away. Prices were very reasonable, service quick and the ambiance was clearly Arizona western. We will go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good steak, and a right price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The good, bad, and the ugly. First the good. A New York strip cooked over open wood, with baked potato, fresh salad with blue cheese, and warm rolls for $11.95, probably the best deal on steak you can find. The bad, the place is a little tacky with the Western motif, and a feeling of darkness. The ugly, is the neighborhood. This area of Tuscon, clearly shows the hard times of the economy. They have a doorman, who I also thinks watched the cars to prevent beak ins. So in if you are in the area (near the airport), and it is still daylight out, you can get a very good steak at a great price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ra4fda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Big! Noisy!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Large room, many people, lots of noise. Steakes (our order) were cut to thin to cook properly. (over done). "Loaded" Baked Potato, was 'strange'. Vegie choice was 'weird' for a Steak House. Our Salads were the best part of dinner. Service was Sub-Par. After waiting for a period of time, we flagged down a waitress. I think she was new...?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cattletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing