We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*”
Review of El Minuto Cafe

El Minuto Cafe
Ranked #166 of 1,994 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $6 - $6
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“*”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

It had a lot of hype for this place. It was good and a few presidents have been there. Hard to fine in the day before GPS

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bethmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    70
    35
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yum”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Wow, it sounds great. What did you like about it? thhe food was awesome it was packed but worth the wait .great hot sauce .

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Vyolaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A family favorite”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

As a 3rd generation Tucsonan, my family has been going to this long-standing Sonoran restaurant for many years and we consider it one of the best in Tucson. It has pleasant, simple decor, an extensive menu and some of the best carne seca in town. On our last visit, we were seated right away and my wheelchair bound mother was easily accommodated. The margaritas were mediocre (tasted like a mix) but loaded with tequila. I had my usual carne seca tacos - 2 hard shell tacos filled to the top with flavorful, succulent carne seca. The accompanying beans were authentic frijoles and tasted like the traditional ones made with lard (don't know if they use it but it has that too-good taste of lard). The rice was light and fluffy and perfect. My platter was huge and my mother's combination plate was so big she had leftovers for the next day. The menudo was also quite good - full of plump hominy and tripe and came with plenty of cilantro, onions and lemons to garnish. The tamale was OK...we just have never found a restaurant that makes tamales better than my own family does. Prices are still reasonable although creeping up but I know costs of everything are going up everywhere. Whenever I come back home to Tucson, a visit to El Minuto is always on the list of things to do.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank newnewyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This is a landmark restaurant in Tucson”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I love the decor, the service, the menu, the food. There's nothing not to like. This is a recommendable establishment.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank flylowguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best Mexican in Tucson”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Great Mexican food. you will drive pass up 10-15 Mexican restaurants to that you could walk in and be served to wait 30 minutes to and hour here. There is a reason for it, GREAT FOOD!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jerryh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Minuto Cafe also viewed

 

Been to El Minuto Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing