We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“one of the best deals around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Takamatsu

Takamatsu
5532 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85712-4926
520-512-0800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #982 of 1,911 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“one of the best deals around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just dropped in without reading any reviews ahead of time. The lunch buffet was an excellent deal. Lots of fish, Korean dishes and about 1/2 dozen kinds of sushi all for 9.95

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirlaroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    9
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Tucson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have been coming here for over 14 years and they have always served fresh fish, perfectly cooked rice and the wait staff refills drinks before they go empty. Each of the sushi chef's have their own style and creations which makes dining here an experience. The all-you-can-eat in addition to the amazing happy hour will keep me coming back here for years to come.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AzIronman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Karaoke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you can, definitely check this place out on a Thursday night, when they have karaoke and happy hour prices. I spent about $10 on what would have been at least $17-$20 regular price, on a few different appetizers, nigiri sushi and beer.

The service was good, and the food itself was very good. The fish in my sushi tasted fresh, and the dumplings were nicely cooked. I've heard the BBQ is excellent, too, but we didn't have time to partake.

I would definitely recommend this place to both visitors, and locals!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
395 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Sushi Competition Fierce in Tucson”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is actually my third strikeout for sushi in the area - surprisingly, as with Takamatsu, all recent reviews had a solid vibe, spacious, clean, and pleasant, but all also had only mediocre sushi. My standards are high, yes, but I do not want all-you-can-eat sushi to taste like all-you-can-eat sushi ... in that sense that I want high quality fish, tasty and fresh ingredients, and excellent preparation and display. Maybe I'm just a sushi snob, and perhaps I have a three-tier system for sushi and have yet to uncover the precise pattern(s)/logistics for my reasoning, but it is there nonetheless: great sushi, mediocre sushi, and inedible sushi. Luckily, I have not encountered the inedible, but thus far the only great sushi I have found is a Kazoku a few blocks down the road - which, like Bushi, also had excellent miso soup. At Takamatsu, my best recommendation honestly is the karokke appetizer. In the area's sushi defense, I was not born/raised in Tucson and my palate is mostly defined by specific coastal and eastern regions of the US.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandia Park, New Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Korean Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has some of the best Korean food in the southwest. There are a limited number of Korean restaurants to begin with, so we are very happy that Tak is so good. We've been there several times when visiting Tucson and the food is always excellent. Also great service by very attractive waitresses.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takamatsu also viewed

 

Been to Takamatsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing