We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Better than when I was here as a kid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinnacle Peak Steakhouse

Pinnacle Peak Steakhouse
Ranked #96 of 1,935 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We invite you to come in and get a taste of the Old West at Tucson's original cowboy steakhouse. Enjoy world famous mesquite grilled Cowboy steaks, ribs, chicken or fish in a relaxed and authentic western atmosphere. We offer an exceptional dining experience with uncompromised food, service, and the friendliest staff to be found anywhere. Be sure to stop by the Silver Dollar Saloon and enjoy your favorite beer or cocktail! Located in the heart of Trail Dust Town, your group will be entertained by all we have to offer. For quality service and value, Pinnacle Peak has been a family tradition in the Arizona Territory for over 50 years. Pinnacle Peak would be pleased to host your group. We can accommodate groups ranging in size from 20 to 100 persons. We can cater to many special needs as well as a set menu, selections from our regular menu, a full hosted bar or cash bar. Whatever your needs are, Pinnacle Peak can assist you! We hope to see you in the near future, but remember, NO TIES ALLOWED!!
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Better than when I was here as a kid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

After all these years I still remember the name. I remembered low picnic tables out in the desert outside with one or two big pits that the cooks/chefs threw our steaks in to cook.They were huge. They had a little saloon there with the cut-off ties hanging from the walls, including President John Kennedy's. Because you are not to be dressed up or they will cut your tie off. This was a popular place back then. Now no outside tables or pits. The little saloon is huge like the steaks and includes the inside resturant. They have a little town right out the doors with shops etc. and behind tall fences there are bleechers to sit to watch the shoot out in the fake city of props. The cowboys/girl though are real stuntmen. Food was great. We were with Senior group so it was included with our vacation package.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2seniors2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    131
    78
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you visit Tucson and like steak, you *must* go to Pinnacle Peak Steakhouse! They only have 1 boneless steak, but their Cowboy (T-bone) steak is just absolutely delicious!
The restaurant itself looks great, it's clean, staff is very nice. As for the price, you pay ~$20 for a (huge) T-bone steak, it's not cheap, but it's worth the price.
It can get quite busy, so you probably don't want to visit at peak times.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michnay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Here's The Beef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had an early dinner here on a Saturday night and had no wait!!! The interior has an Old West atmosphere. Our waiter "Cactus Jack" was an amiable young man who although very busy , gave us his undivided attention and happily answered all our questions. We ordered frozen margaritas that were wonderful but the star of the night was our rib eye steaks. They were cooked to perfection and so tasty. We probably embarrassed ourselves by picking them up to chew on the bones but we had no shame. They were awesome.Our salads were very fresh and our side of beans was plentiful. The only minor complaint was the bread......it looked and tasted like a thick slab of WonderBread. We were hoping for some good sourdough or cornbread instead. The place is friendly and loud and can become more raucous if a tie is being cut off a patron and mounted on the wall. jack remembered that one of our party was celebrating a birthday and although we were too full for dessert, he presented her with a dish of ice cream with a candle on it and the led the other patrons in a chorus of "Happy Birthday". Afterwards we strolled the grounds and there was alot to see and do. A nice evening all the way around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food, great price, great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went to celebrate a birthday. Food was awesome, and much better than expected considering the very reasonable price. Enthusiastic service, and yes they will cut your tie off. A magician visited the table and entertained the kids with some good illusions. This restaurant is in a location ripe for photos and being a photographer I loved it. Has a carousel and another ride for kids as well as shops and live entertainment.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandGuy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The only thing good about visiting this steakhouse is the long wait outside. This place has much entertainment and kids love it. However once seated inside your wait again is very long and boring. The food seems to be getting more expensive and the service is poor. The food is nothing to write home about. I suggest visiting trail dust town and skipping this steakhouse.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daisymary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinnacle Peak Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Pinnacle Peak Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing