We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry, wouldn't go back”
Review of U-Like Asian Buffet - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
U-Like Asian Buffet
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Oxnard, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sorry, wouldn't go back”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I tried U-Like Buffet twice to give it a fair shake. There was a good selection of items. However, both times the hot/warm food was cool or cold. The kicker for me however was the bathroom. It smelled SO BAD. Like they were trying to cover sewer smell with chemicals. Pretty nasty. Just ruined my appetite. Sticky floor. Needed a GOOD cleaning. Yuck!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
632 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“What's special about this place is the Soup Noddle Station, but .......”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This buffet is run by the same chain that runs the New China buffet 1.5 mile north on Wilmot. I like both buffets

What make this buffet different from other buffet is the soup noodle station. They serve different style of noodles. I tried their Vietnamese noodle (Fon) a year ago and the soap had the distinct Fon taste. When you go to any Vietnamese place and order the Fon, they taste about the same because there is a receipt for that and it is expensive to make. A year later, it is not the same. They have cut corners and just use probably the chicken powder for soap. I would onlygive the soup station a 2 stars because it is not authentic. The Chinese style noodle came out to soft and the soap taste the same as any other soap noodle you ordered. They could have done a lot better job.

The rest of the buffet is pretty similar to their sister buffet -New China. They are probably taking quite a few customer from them. I went to the new China a few days ago because their shrimp and vegetable is a lot better there. There was a lot less customers compared to before on a Saturday around 12 noon.

It is an above average Chinese buffet with very reasonable price.

Good:
Good value for around $7 for lunch
good selection
Good service
the place is clean and big and bright

Bad:
Lousy soap noodle station
The cooking is not as good as their sister buffet- New China.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas,USA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Average Asian Buffet”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I heard great things about U-Like but discovered it is your average run of the mill Asian buffet . Service was pretty good however and the dessert bar seemed to be large. Their food wasn't bad overall but the quality didn't seem to surpass that of it's rival buffets. If you live nearby and crave Asian, you should try out U-Like. If you live more than 15 minutes away however, seek somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodERI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, FL
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a great buffet & excellent value. Good for lunch or dinner. Really like it and we hit this place twice during our trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank phanie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If you like buffets, this is a good place.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I like the variety of choices at this buffet. The restaurant is fairly new, clean, and the presenations were appetizing. The servers were attentive, but not intrusive. The room is large enough so that conversation is easy while dining.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U-Like Asian Buffet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing