We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican Food, large portions”
Review of Mi Nidito

Mi Nidito
Ranked #38 of 1,995 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food, large portions”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We've eaten at many Mexican restaurants in Tucson and this one is quite comparable to some of the best. The staff is very friendly, timely and accurate. The atmosphere is just what you would expect from a Mexican restaurant, colorful and busy. The food is served nice and hot with generous portions. Maybe a little too cheesy but I certainly won't complain. All in all it was a very good experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plbbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    127
    64
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The Staff Is Excellent!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The staff here is so friendly and helpful. The restaurant is relatively small as is the kitchen. The food was average Mexican. My one suggestion for improvement would be to get a better bar selection. Their Margarita's are only offered with Jose Cuervo Tequila. That is a disappointment. With such limited space, I am not sure what they can do, but hopefully they offer more drink choices in the future.

The neighborhood is not the best. They have closed circuit cameras in the parking lot as well as a guard. Would not recommend women going alone here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_200950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Average Mexican Food”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

While traveling through Tucson, I decided to eat dinner at Mi Nidito, which was featured on the Travel Channel. I ordered the "Presidential Platter," the dinner that President Clinton had at the restaurant. The plate had items I would not have ordered, otherwise (No wonder he had a heart attack!). I thought the food was average. I arrived at 5:15 p.m. and was seated immediately. By the time I left an hour later, the restaurant was full and there were approximately 20 people waiting to be seated, so the restaurant is obviously very popular.

Perhaps, I would feel differently about the restaurant had I ordered items I prefer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joelikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing horrible but nothing great”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I have been here a couple of times now with my wife and in-laws. This last time I had the chicken flautas and shared a chile relleno. They were okay, but I have better versions of both in restaurants within the same neighborhood. My wife got the chili colorado and it had an over powering beefiness to it. I have way better chile colorado with very flavorful chili sauce. The food isn't bad, but I have had much better and therefore doesn't live up to the hype for me.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belgian79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food makes the wait worth it”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

The president's plate is consistently good, cheese soup and cheese crisp are the best all around. Only downside is the wait. Most times up to 45 min. In the end the food makes the wait worth it. The spices and sauces used are very home made tasting.

Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Nidito also viewed

 

Been to Mi Nidito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing