We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food and good value for money”

El Charro Cafe - The Original
Ranked #13 of 2,003 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Established in 1922, El Charro Cafe of Tucson, Arizona is The Nation's Oldest Mexican Restaurant in continuous operation by the same family. Featuring traditional Northern Mexico-Sonoran style and innovative Tucson-style Mexican Food, El Charro Cafe is truly as Gourmet Magazine wrote: "A Taste Explosion". We are innovators and originators and have proven this with our efforts in maintaining old world quality with new found concepts such as recipes lower in trans fat or designing dishes for those who need to dine gluten free! Whatever your needs, El Charro Cafe and family are prepared to show you that; "We are not the best because we are the oldest, We are the oldest because WE ARE THE BEST!"
Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really good food and good value for money”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a very good meal last night. We had two Mexican dishes, a glass of wine and two margueritas all for $50. The winter was attentive and I liked the paintings and images on the walls

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pacific2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    902
    590
    255
    134
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great every time”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Original Sonoran Mexican. Fantastic taste. Carlotta Flores is a perfectionist in the kitchen. Enchiladas , chimichangas and tomato soup are the best in the US. El Charro has an international fan base.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cbaltfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Tucson is a tough market for Mexican food...............”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

There are a lot of good Mexican restaurants in Tucson, and El Charro is one of the oldest ones, dating back to the 1920's. A safe bet for good food at reasonable prices. With so many choices to choose from, locals argue over which is best. El Charro, the original, and the several branches are good places to eat, the service is always attentive, and the value is excellent. If you are a critical Mexican foodie, more basic and original food can be found elsewhere, but you can't make a mistake in any one of these El Charros.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wallybaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Very average food”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is the obvious place to meet people for lunch downtown. However, I've never had a really great meal there and most have been acceptable but fairly ordinary.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best Mexican in Tucson”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Everything I've ordered here has been delicious, including the margarita's! The service is very good & staff are curtious & friendly. I take all my out of town vistors here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charro Cafe - The Original also viewed

 

Been to El Charro Cafe - The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing